SteemitSandwichContest Week#44 - Spicy Hot Chicken & Prawn Curry Croissant

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

Our family favourite holiday destination is on the Kwazulu Natal South Coast at a lovely little coastal town called Glenmore Beach. One not only has the best of both worlds with gigantic rocks for the fishermen and a nice little bay for swimmers, but also find the very best Chicken & Prawn Curry here, served with Popodums, Sambals and the works, so although Durban claims to be the home of Curries in South Africa, nothing beats Glenmore Sand's Chicken & Prawn Curry!

I've tried to reproduce this, the chef promised to show us the how-to, but we still did not get around to it!
My version certainly is delicious, but not the same!

We all know spicy Curries taste even better the day after as the spices get to mingle, so when I was a working girl, a Curry Sandwich was one of my favourites.

We had leftover Lemon & Herb Chicken from Sunday lunch, and Chicken Mayo just did not appeal.

I had lovely plump Prawns in the freezer and decided to turn the leftover roast Chicken into an instant Spicy Hot Chicken & Prawn Curry and serve it on a feather light buttery Croissant as my entry into Steemit Sandwich Contest Week 44 run by the awesome @jaybird.
IMG_20180611_160606.jpg

Ingredients - will fill 3 large croissants:

  • Approx 1 cup Leftover Roast Chicken, cubed
  • Approx 200 gram Peeled and deveined Prawns
  • Half an Onion, diced
  • 1-2 cloves Garlic, crushed
  • Fresh Ginger Root, grated
  • 1 teaspoon Jeera Seeds (cumin)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Garum Masala
  • 1 teaspoon Curry Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Turmeric
  • 1-2 tomatoes, diced
  • 1/4 cup Lemon Juice
  • 1 teaspoon fruity Chutney
  • Fresh Dhania (Coriander) leaves
    IMG_20180611_150902_1.jpg

Sunday's leftover Lemon & Herb Chicken
IMG_20180610_164531.jpg

The how-to on making my instant Chicken & Prawn Curry with the leftover Sunday roast:

  • Heat a little oil in pot, fry Jeera Seeds & add all spices as well as Garlic & Onions.
  • Add Tomatoes, Lemon Juice & Ginger and boil at a medium heat.
  • Add Prawns and stir fry for about 5 minutes, add salt to taste.
  • Add about 1 teaspoon Cornflour to thicken gravy.
  • Add Chicken and chutney, stir and your cooking's all done!

IMG_20180611_153633.jpg

  • Place fresh Dhania leaves on top, cover to seal in the flavour.
    IMG_20180611_153952.jpg
    Croissant waiting to be filled with spicy hot Chicken & Prawn Curry.

Lovely flavours wafting through the house, drawing everyone in to the kitchen.
IMG_20180611_160344.jpg

Nothing beats this sandwich, spicy hot and packed with flavours from the ocean, the farmyard and the Orient - my new favourite for sure!
IMG_20180611_160632.jpg

Hope you enjoyed my sandwich this week and that I get to see yours here as well!
IMG_20180611_160625.jpg

A quick look at the how-to:
IMG_20180611_150902_1-ANIMATION.gif

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by; comments, upvotes and resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Anything on a croissant is great, but your curry on it...that's is awesome!

Ah thank you @cecicastor, so nice seeing you here, you're so right, love a croissant & a curry with it was delicious but wonder what the Viennese would say doing that to their specialty;)

Wow @lizelle you never cease to amaze! I'm so "lus" for one of these right now. Please let me know when you come down to Glenmore again, we can meet at Glenmore Sands!

That would be so awesome, we could share a chicken & prawn curry, their portions are quite generous...hope the same chef is still there ;) we really need to take a break soon!

OMG!!! OMG!!!! Just OMG!!!

Thank you for the resteem as well, really appreciate it :):)

Dam! This looks most excellent!

Curry and the prawns ass! Wooo.

Love the coassiant choice too!

Thank you so much @jaybird, this was really delicious!

This looks so yummy. I'm going to start making a list and you'll have to reproduce some of these for us when we come visit 😀.

A visit from you guys would be an absolute treat for us, so I will treat you anytime:)

Damn, I'm gonna make a chicken and prawn curry, be very original and stick it on croissant, lol ;)

Haha @therneau, sure your curry would be just as good, thanks for stopping by ;)

Oh, I didn't mention but that looks great!

Thank you☺

I agree with you completely, leaving curry overnight really do help it develops it’s flavour, it’s just work so harmoniously!! I realise u love ur curries very much, maybe if you have a chance u could try Malaysian curry, it’s quite interesting!!

Your creation is just making me mouth water despite I don’t eat spicy food!!

Haha @alansthoughs, I have been doing many spicy things of late, should not as I have reflux, but I take extra meds ;)
I will google Malaysian curry, you've made me curious now, thanks for stopping by!

Sorry to hear that, from the redness of ur curry it just seem very spicy!

Looking forward to your thoughts if you manage to try it :)

Will let you know;)

Hi @lizelle - gave you 100% vote on this latest post of yours

Thank you @cookwithus, really appreciate your support :)

You got me again, sweetie. Time to throw a hot Italian link on the George Foreman before I can go to sleep.

Oh dear mr Papper, you should not read food posts late at night! Thank you though for your kind comments, much appreciated :)

One sausage wasn't going to kill me, the hunger might have though. I like to support my friends on here, so I'll continue to read any chance I get.

Thank you :)

That looks totally delicious @lizelle. I am a big fan of curry and my mouth is watering thinking about eating that!

Thank you @gholsa, wish I could give you some ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97