100 DAYS OF POETRY: DAY 63 - The Arrogance Of Some Rednecks

hat-591973__480.jpg

The Arrogance Of Some Rednecks
By Stephen Martin

Yesterday, a white man coming out of a truck stop bathroom stall decided to use the N Word in my presence.
I haven’t heard it uttered in my presence for years.
I forgot how it felt to hear it.
It was like a cigarette was being put out on my soul.
The worst part was that he was joining into the conversation of two other men whom he seemed to regard as comrades.
He stepped from the stall, saw me noodling around on my phone, and made a judgement call that I was an acceptable victim to accost with his word garbage.
It made me sad and angry.

I said nothing, but took the now vacant stall, and proceeded to stew on the arrogance of some Rednecks.

donkey-316041__480.jpg

I am a student of and ambassador for #steemschools.

Learn about our mission Here.
Join us on Discord.

@dbartim thank you for creating #steemschool. @d-pend thank you for the initial invite. Thank you to everyone else in our community. We can manifest dreams together.

I am a member of PoetsUnited. A community devoted to poetry. Join us.

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11