(Steemit School Poetry 100 Day Challenge: Day 70) FREESTYLE LAMENTATION

128a0d0a386d5957800ddbd28df3c0cf.jpg

 

Dear All,

This poem is my 70th submission.

Thank you.

 

filigree.png

 

FREESTYLE LAMENTATION

by Ikhwanul Halim

 

burne-jones-the-lament-edward-burne-jones.jpg


city has shorn the hours of the day
red flowers rise out of the mounds of the dead.
dust on the windowsills
where I awoke to watch children kicking a ball
       in the muddy square

I thought my life would be amusing
revolutionized the way revolutions are performed
but one who stands the chance of been remembered
only for the grounds I broke in psychohistory

make a political point that I cannot now remember
wrongly attributes the force behind a siphon to gravity
an irritating dripping sound
coming from a tap somewhere
       why wouldn’t you stop making that noise?

a ritual of the modern man on disguise
reading brings on a very oppressive mental lethargy
does the dictionary have to include all?
so I couldn’t complain

someone who sees behind the mask of the obvious
despair at people eager to condemn discovery
many regret all the true great have been made
in a world where the past, present and future
       crashing onto singularity


5.Paul_Nash_Totes_Meer_1940-1_Oil_on_canvas_2 (1).jpg

 

Bandung, May 16, 2018

 

This is my 70th submission for 100 Day Poetry Challenge conceived by Daniel Pendergraft @d-pend. I am in Category I.

If you want to participate, please do not hesitate to join Steemit School discord.

Big thank @d-pend for giving me this chance to participate in this event.

 

Images sources: 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

someone who sees behind the mask of the obvious
despair at people eager to condemn discovery
many regret all the true great have been made
in a world where the past, present and future
crashing onto singularity

Wow ... This speaks of chaos. A collision of times. Well achieved and the images reinforce it. Good job, my friend! A hug!

Muchas gracias, @zeleiracordero amiga 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97