Bored - Day 6 of the Steemit school 100 day poetry challenge

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

@d-pend contest

entry for Announcing the Steemit School Poetry 100 Day Challenge! (Total Prize Fund 2000 SBD)

Bored

pl 028.JPG
(the chairs do not fill up completely until the speech is over)

Stifling a yawn
I cannot open my eyes for long
the long speech
to stop, I beseech

Boring others with tall stories
the speaker hails his own victories
the audience is patient
their tolerance, magnificent

A volunteer whispers into the ear
the speaker is unperturbed to hear
that no one wants him to continue
and want him to leave the venue

A person from among the audience gets up, shoe in hand
the speaker leaves all of a sudden before others take the same stand

(public functions in India are often witness to such boring speeches by political leaders, who make use of the opportunity to talk and talk and talk and talk...)

pl 032.JPG
[ our village school - annual day function]

Thanks to @d-pend for holding this poetry contest. Please contact him if you would like to donate to the contest or help him in other ways.

I write poems to express myself. I started writing at the age of twelve or so and some of my poems were published in magazines for children, a time when print still ruled the world. The internet and the blogging world has helped me write poems. Most of it was as I wrote earlier, to express myself and my thoughts. I have also been a ghostwriter.
Steemit has helped me write with freedom and also earned me very good friends who encourage me to write. I hope my readers will support me and also join in this contest. I am not a student of literature and so I do not consider myself an expert in poetry. It is the judge who will decide.

Please join the Steemit school now
Discord link : https://discord.gg/hyfYQ9P
Become part of the movement today

©sayee

image source - sayee

Sort:  

Our MLA M.M.Mani(Maniyaasan),who is now the Electricity minister of Kerala,is well known for his '123' speech.I would love to hear speeches if they have the quality of TED talks

very right you are

Thanks for sharing bro @sayee °♥ ˚ • ★ *˚ .ღ

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63314.98
ETH 3233.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88