Temple premises - Day 14 of the Steemit school 100 day poetry challenge

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

Temple premises

IMG_20150224_175739.jpg
(a picture I took years back, boys performing on drums for the Edavanakavu temple festival, it was so wonderful. I now regret not choosing to take a video of it)

prayers are on the lips
rising from the heart
some come to the temple, to pray
some, to look at the sights and take heart

flower garlands and sweets
incense sticks and coconuts
small shops selling goodies
the temple premises have them all

people in their grand best
the air filled with the smell of 'prasad'
positivity is present everywhere
lifting the spirits of all

temples are where you pray
directly from the heart

Note- Hinduism is not a religion, it is a way of life. A Hindu is never asked to recite verses from the Holy Bhagavad Gita or Ramayana. Just requested to visit the temple, once in a while and pray, directly to the God. The priest is given details of lunar horoscope like star and the gothra so that he can pray for you, reciting some mantras. People who are well versed in scriptures do recite mantras and make the atmosphere holier.

Narayaneeyam is a poetic offering, Sanskrit verses in praise of Lord Narayana/Krishna. Ladies sit down in the Guruvayoor temple premises and recite it. It should be noted that the words should be recited as it should otherwise the meaning could be altered and invite drastic effects. I am happy to know that @bala41288 is very well versed in Sanskrit. More young people should be like him.

10390060_630922350309277_3507501130961401333_n.jpg
(photo of Guruvayoor temple premises, an old file photo)

Thanks to @d-pend for organizing this contest otherwise I would never have the motivation to write each and every day.


@d-pend contest

entry for Announcing the Steemit School Poetry 100 Day Challenge! (Total Prize Fund 2000 SBD)

I write poems to express myself. I started writing at the age of twelve or so and some of my poems were published in magazines for children, a time when print still ruled the world. The internet and the blogging world has helped me write poems. Most of it was as I wrote earlier, to express myself and my thoughts. I have also been a ghostwriter.
Steemit has helped me write with freedom and also earned me very good friends who encourage me to write. I hope my readers will support me and also join in this contest. I am not a student of literature and so I do not consider myself an expert in poetry. It is the judge who will decide.

Please join the Steemit school now
Discord link : https://discord.gg/hyfYQ9P
Become part of the movement today

©sayee

image source - sayee

Please Join Indiaunited discord if you are an Indian or non resident Indian or a person with Indian roots and join the curation trail. You can contact the @indiaunited team leaders regarding support of the curation trail. India United has started a new project where you can recommend good posts for curation. Please check it out. We need all the support and hope those with more steem power come forward to help IU.

Namaste

please check out @comedyopenmic round 5 contest

DQmeZR5gxMRsGvanJAzkyHoYaXBTVWCfHEYqiycvb4rLJtU_1680x8400.jpg

Join steemsugar discord

Sort:  

prayers are on the lips
rising from the heart
some come to the temple, to pray
some, to look at the sights and take heart

My favorit lines. So beautiful words and deep meaning.

thank you so much dear

Indeed temples really are the place where we connect our soul to GOD and get positive vibrations from him . Every single fleck of sand in the temple is filled with devotion and energy . Visiting temple is my stressbuster . I guess you're a tamilian , I visited many temples in Tamilnadu when I'm class 8 , I love the culture and tradition there ! Indeed every Indian state is garnished with tradition :) Btw good poetry .

thanks dear, yes I am a tamil but staying in kerala, 4th generation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90