100 Days of Poetry Challenge Day #89

Keep Doing You


“Ingrate!”

It bounces off the walls
And reflects off my skin

Their faces are a mask
Expressionless expressions
Faces set in stone
Features carved to perfection
Honed and chiselled
By years of judgemental existence

They do not utter a word
They do not make a sound
But their eyes are sharp
Cutting through my being
Slashing through my defences
And leaving me shaking

“Ingrate!
You bloody ingrate!”

I suppose they’re right.
This life has given me everything

A home
People that love me
People I love

Yet I feel empty inside
And so like Twist
With arms outstretched and lips quivering
I ask for more

“Ingrate!
You bloody ingrate!”
“How dare you ask for more?”
They say nothing
But their eyes cut through me
These people who have had less than I

“How dare you ask for more?”
Their eyes flash at me.

“How dare you settle for less?”
My eyes scream back.


Join The Steem Schools Server on Discord here

https://discord.gg/eJk3hw2

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75