Tea and scones can make you choke but death will never harm me - Day 62 of the steemitschool 100 day writing challenge by @d-pend

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

e-mail-3239670_1920.png
Image Source Here & Here

Death came calling once again for Sunday morning tea.
He sat and gave out pleasantries was friendly as can be.

He said he needed some reprieve from the human race,
that our dealings worried him he needed a safe space.
He thought he might take a reprieve of a few days or more,
go hiking on the mountain tops or sail to distant shore.

I told him then, to think it through and what this all could mean,
The dead unable to be dead, in states that’d make you scream.
He turned to me with empty eyes, that seemed to pull me in
and told me that was the whole point and goosebumps filled my skin.

He said if humans were to see the pain and death they cause,
not vanish from sight seamlessly, their deeds they’d maybe pause.
If their victims followed them in animated gore,
the world might be a better place and killing be no more.

“I’m tired of the legacy your people leave behind.
I need a bit of TLC , some clarity of mind”
And so I helped him pack his bags with colourful attire,
and waved after his Cadillac with its screeching tires.

(Image credit Dave Renike and a portrait of the fair jubilee made by myself turned into this here universal truth meme) 1146410_626398614061443_1547687283_o.jpg

moi.jpg

nan small.jpg

Image Credit
ss.jpg

Image Credit
lgbt.jpg

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

image.png

Image Credit
TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

music.jpg

Sort:  

That is a brillian idea and I love how you pulled it off. So death drive a Cadi LOL. Good one man

Reminds me of the film / TV movie "Death Takes a Holiday," which was filmed at least three times that I know of, with my favorite version starring Monte Markham.

Same basic idea as your poem, where Death goes on holiday and the mercy that is death is revealed to the world. Great story, and I really like your take on the theme.

nods mid write I had to stop because i was being flashed with images of diskworld LOL ...which references the movies OC

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95