Steemit Ultimate Challenge 8 Weeks - #Week 3

I am Timekama Essien Udo from Nsit Ubium local Government Area in Akwa Ibom State, Southern Nigeria.

I am thanking @dobartim for this massive, over the bar kind of contest which is already sweeping across the world and touching lives already. I appreciate you sir.

Life Communications

My first exposure to the social media, to the Internet was in 2010 few days after my secondary school graduation. Then it wasn't a general luxury having access to an internet facility, you can be rest assured that I passed through a lot to be able to get my first internet enabled phone.

I joined facebook November, 6th 2010 and had been there very active and involved, knowing nothing about crypto currency, nothing about writing to earn. Everything to me was just for fun then, amusement and only pleasure.

I wouldn't have known of crypto currency nor steemit without the assistance of @mritsnobigdeal. Thanks for your show of love sir. I will make you proud very soon.
I am happy I yielded to join STEEMIT.

Financial communications
I am very excited at what steemit has done for my financial life. I remember when I used to canvass for little monies to see myself through school successfully, it was really hard on me. Dad was diagnosed of acute elephantiasis(elephantiasis
refers to a parasitic infection that causes extreme swelling in the arms and legs. The disease is caused by the filarial worm, which is transmitted form human to human via the female mosquito when it takes a blood meal. The parasite grows into an adult worm that lives in the lymphatic system of humans.).

So I was made to stay out of school for a year till dad was okay, but unfortunately the sickness killed him. It was so devastating for me, in fact I made a resolve that even if it meant selling on the road side, I would just to complete my academics, I would do so.

FB_IMG_1518739493462.jpg
The Disease Condition

My loving mom wouldn't just sit with folded hands to see me suffer. She suffered with me.
You see, my mum was into Okirika business for a very long time. She sold shirt at Ngwa road and sometimes had to walk long distances screaming "buy your fine fine shirts". She would sweat, run after customers, and be a clown most of the day while marketing her goods.

But you needed to see how super proud I was each time she came to my secondary school carrying her shirts. I would tell my friends" that's my mum" with such adoration in my eyes. I was never ashamed for one day. I was even more than willing to help her after school, but she would say " nne, go home and read so that one day I'll stop this business". She stopped 2 years ago, is currently into importation, sweat-free soft work and is still my mum.

FB_IMG_1518740445508.jpg
One of Mom's Market Goods

That you're selling Gala or helping your mum sell vegetables does not remove an iota of intelligence, honesty and beauty in you. You are not defined by your source of income. You are who you are. Your personality dignifies or mars your trade.

So please, remove shame from the work of your hands, provided it is legal. Stop hiding from people. The people you are hiding from may be into worse things. Besides your tomorrow will definitely be better. If you are here and you despise and make fun of people's little beginnings, your mind is and will remain small.

It was when I joined STEEMIT that I found out that one could make good money without having to sweat and cry. My finances have received a face lift since I joined this platform.

Business /Educational Communications

I am very delighted at the awesome untalented adjustment in my business life all together. I'm really not the same again since I joined steemit.

I also had intentions of lecturing in the University but to do this I needed to further my academics to Master's degree level, but my mom couldn't afford this as she was now a single mother. The agreement was once am done with school I joined resources to make sure my kid siblings were educated.

I was in a dilemma as to what to do, partly because I had no sponsors. But thank God for steemit, I was privileged to be part of this platform and guess what am already saving huge sums in naira towards my second degree program. There's more Hope now in my life due to steemit.

No wonder Bradley Whitford said :

Infuse your life with action. Don't wait for it to happen. Make it happen. Make your own future. Make your own hope. Make your own love. And whatever your beliefs, honor your creator, not by passively waiting for grace to come down from upon high, but by doing what you can to make grace happen... yourself, right now, right down here on Earth.

I am currently better than I joined steemit, my business is touching lives and making living count so if I win this I promise to give back to the less privileged as I have always been doing. I believe in reality, in hope and in passion. Where ever life is, hope is, so in my hopelessness I see hope because there is life.

All I have to say to us is this, don't stop believing in yourself, in your purpose and vision. Know that you deserve to be you and in being you, just be the best you. I participated in this Steemit ultimate challenge today in sacred remembrance of my life story, I have enough reasons to be happy

Despite all the challenges I faced, today I am a barrister and attorney of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

FB_IMG_1517155301391.jpg
On my call to Bar

FB_IMG_1518789701115.jpg
With my mom on My Call to Bar Ceremony

Don't forget to share your success story by joining this contest organized by @dobartim , your story might encourage your world who knows.

Thanks to @aidasfg7 @flysky @dobartim for Supporting this contest

https://steemit.com/steemitultimatechallenge/@dobartim/3e3zoo-steemit-ultimate-challenge-8-weeks-prize-fund-2000-sbd-week-1-registration-is-in-progress

Thanks so much for stopping by.

1036 Words

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75