Steemit Ultimate Challenge 8 Weeks - Week #5

Browsing through my feed, a few days ago, I was thinking of another topic to write about, when I came across a post by @dobartim, his post was on the eight week SteemIt Ultimate Challenge. At first I was thinking it would be an easy task to write about how SteemIt had impacted my life. As I sat down to start working on writing about all the ways SteemIt has changed my life, I began to realize, SteemIt has had a larger impact on my life than I would have first thought. I will do my best to go through the different ways SteemIt has been the Ultimate change in my life.



steemitfeed.png



SteemIt Ultimate Challenge.png
Screenshot

My SteemIt Ultimate Challenge


How my life has been changed since I came across SteemIt November of 2016! This is not going to be easy, as there are several ways in which SteemIt Ultimately changed my life for the best. I will do my best to explain how each of those changes came about! SteemIt gave me a way to pay for food, a way to live with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), the confidence to return to work, and the ability to make friends at a time I had none.

My initial thoughts of how SteemIt had changed my life went to the friendships I have made. For me most of my experiences with cryptocurrencies has all come from taking the time to learn it all on my own, up until I found SteemIt, I never actually had any friends who understood anything about cryptocurrencies. All the people I knew prior to SteemIt seemed to think, like most people, Bitcoin was never going to last. Fortunately unlike anyone I knew, the minute I learned about Bitcoin, I realized its potential, and although at the time I could not explain Bitcoin to people I knew, I still started pursuing it.

One day while I was reading the Poloniex troll box someone had mentioned Steem, and at the time talking about how it was moving up, I asked a couple questions, and they told me about SteemIt. I spent the next couple days looking around on SteemIt, at that moment the whole concept of social media was new to me, as I was not an avid user of anything such as Facebook, Twitter, or any other site. Since I heard about SteemIt, I was currently out of work, living with family, and feeling helpless, I was having a horrible time struggling with PTSD.

Initially I had no idea what I was getting myself into by creating an account on SteemIt. All I knew is it was a cryptocurrency, and you got paid in it for creating content. I took a look around and after a couple days, I took a chance to create a post, at the time, and even now, I was not a great writer, I also did not feel like I had much to contribute. I was surprised in no time I had received a couple upvotes, and saw the payout go up just a little.


With the new found interest, I started working on creating a post from time to time, as well as making comments on others blogs. Along my journey I ran into @barrydutton, @papa-pepper, @whatageek, @runridefly, and others, through various conversations I began to make friends, and finally found a group of people who understood cryptocurrencies. It took me a little bit of time to get into writing, and January of 2017 I took on a post a day challenge for 30 days, during that time I saw my writing was improving. I will admit I did skip 2 or 3 days during that month. Shortly after doing the post a day challenge, life changed, and I ended up in a place where I could not work on creating post on SteemIt.
Those 3 months did wonders for me while I was working through PTSD, it gave me hope, something to look forward to each new day, I also felt productive, even though at the time my payouts had usually been small, I still felt like I was contributing something. When I started on SteemIt, I was in no mental condition to go to work, prior to finding SteemIt, I walked out of work from stress, although I needed a job to survive I was forced to move in with family. My family keep pushing me to find some form of work, when ever I considered looking for a small job I could do, even something like a car wash, the stress returned to the point I was unable to do anything. Yet making even a simple post on SteemIt made my day, and taking the time to interact with others helps, as I found I was not the only one struggling with PTSD.
Taken by me!

In 2017 before I was able to get a job, I needed some money to buy groceries, so I used some of the Steem I had made to buy a gift card to Walmart on Gyft. I sent my Steem to blocktrades.us and the Bitcoin over to Gyft, this saved my day. I was waiting on some money to come in, and it was over a week out. Having mainly Steem and no food at the time, I was still able to get food to eat. Recently, I did finally apply for a BitPay debit card, and have had to power down a couple weeks to pay a bill I was behind on, of which I used Steem.


Taken by me!

Around June of 2017 I did finally manage to get a job, and was working hard on getting caught up being I had not had an income for a while, it took me time to get caught up. If it was not for SteemIt, I'm not sure I would have ever found a way to get back to work, I was having a hard time dealing with my stress, and feeling hopeless, as well as non productive, SteemIt gave me just what I was needing at the time I needed it. I was able to start feeling productive, as well as a way to both make friends, and helped me live with the stress I had. Around the time I got the job, family needed me to move out, so I ended up buying a motor home. Took time to get to where I'm at now, but I'm in a better position, I'm getting ready to work on making some improvements on the motor home, as you can see I've been living under a tarp as the roof has a few leaks. I'm going to write a post for each of the improvements I make along the way. I'm hoping to be able to make those improvements with Steem, so that I can show a complete turn around of my life creating the ultimate changes in my life both since I found SteemIt, and also with the Steem I have made.

On Friday, March 2nd, 2018, I received a power down of 106 Steem. I'm going to be using the Steem this week to buy a motor to go on a bicycle, this will provide me with transportation around town, over the last year I have been mainly using the bus. Getting the motor for the bicycle will be a step at getting around town through Steem, and my first step to getting ready to live off cryptocurrencies. The freedom of traveling around town that I will be gaining is entirely from my activities here on SteemIt. I have some other projects, that I'm going to be starting soon as I can get the Steem to get them going!

Thank you for reading, I hope your SteemIt Ultimate Challenge is also been helpful for you as well!

Also want to thank the sponsors for competition: @dobartim , @flysky , @aidasfg7 .

Interested in creating your on post and joining in the challenge? You can find the details here, you can even add a link to your post in the comments here, I'd be interested in hearing how SteemIt has changed your life as well! Good luck to all who participate.

https://steemit.com/steemitultimatechallenge/@dobartim/6hcmmh-steemit-ultimate-challenge-8-weeks-prize-fund-2000-sbd-week-5-registration-is-in-progress

You can always follow me here on SteemIt!


If you think this is undervalued you can send tips here

BTC- 12RojsHTJxBGaLMkVNxgPUZGE1bGrnxotJ
ETH- 0x4237f175ed398ede3437236220c3a15594efd69a
ETC- 0x607d23543fba32968515cbc6e9f10b71973a9171
LTC- LU1F8duF7vAjpqSnM6KavqDR8LDdDF4KoR
DASH- XkxqFSA8epg4AnAbS12JR9pjJeXAYj8YgG
INFO- iM3kiwJ5gNwURRPpUgdfUNjibxE2i6fcUe

Sort:  

After reading your post, I am happy for you at how Steemit has changed the different aspects of your life. I am also amazed at the power of the Steemit platform and community can do for an individual.

I feel that your post itself is a form of positive energy that lets people know how Steemit can impact someone's life and also can help someone learn and gain knowledge, communicate with people and most importantly having audiences that will engage with you in the form of comments which will allow one to improve on his/her own writing skills too.

Personally, I have joined last year in May but haven't been active for quite some time now. I will be trying to see if I can get something posted on this wonderful Steemit platform soon.

Yes, I have found a lot more positives out of the platform, seems there are plenty of different ways in which this platform can be used. Now I'm looking into ways I can do better!

Hahaha That is a cool challenge! good post

Thank you, it took me a couple days thinking about how to do it all, wanted to do the best I could to show how SteemIt has helped at least me out in life!

Hahaha That is a cool challenge! By the way I recently made a post about my adventures in Swedens most beutiful Village! Please go check it out!

Sounds interesting, will go and check it out! Yeah I like to join in on the challenges when I come across ones I can do. There have been some pretty fun games and challenges here on SteemIt. So I have been working to get back into doing more here, as it is always full of fun times, and great things to read, or do!

Resteemed to over 14300 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

@resteem.bot

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program.
APPICS is a new social community based on Steem.
The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO will start soon.
Read here more: https://steemit.com/steemit/@resteem.bot/what-is-appics

@resteem.bot

One of best challenge, the great impact of steemit in everyone life.

Yes, it is a great challenge, I had a hard time actually wanting to write this article, as it is basically what really has happened in a shortened version. Thank you for your comment, and hope to see you enter the challenge as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78