GAIA Ceramic Design - SteemitWorldMap

in #steemitworldmap6 years ago

19390902_1764934973798399_8168591417591567897_o.jpg

First up, I want to start with a disclaimer: All these photos are taken from the shop's public FaceBook page because I wasn't keen to take photos in the studio with the artist watching me! It will become clear why as I explain later.

The ancient city of Rouen in Normandy (France) is was known in past centuries for its soft-paste porcelain which was an attempt to re-create the porcelain from China. To this day, there are many ateliers which continue the tradition of porcelain and ceramic manufacture. This particular shop/studio was just around the corner from my hotel, and when I walked past on the first of my work, I made a mental note to return to have a look at what sort of presents I might buy for my wife's birthday. Which incidentally, we had agreed not to do birthday presents this year (I think she finds me hard to buy for!!!), but I couldn't resist!

However, the next day, when had time to come down and look at the collection, IT WAS CLOSED! And that the next day that it would be open would be the day that I would be already travelling away from the city.

However, there was a notice that I could get in touch with the artist/atelier, and try to organise an appointment to come in. Well, I had seen some things in the shop window that I really knew that I was going to buy so it wouldn't be an awkward situation to ask her to open the shop and then not buy anything....

I left her an email message, seeing as I wasn't game enough to call and try my luck with French. I wasn't really expecting a reply, so I went off further afield to search for "not-birthday" presents. So, I was quite surprised when I got an email saying that she could open the shop just for me!

I turned up at the appointment time, and she was there, and she was really friendly! It turns out that the day that she had the shop closed was so that she could work in her studio (which was in the basement of the shop) in peace without the distractions of customers.

Well, I had a necklace and a set of bowls that I wanted to get, so that was quick (I will post photos of them when I get back home in a couple of days). While she wrapped them up as gifts (and polished the silver of the necklace), I had a little look around the studio. There were some really amazing pieces, but some of them were seriously expensive. I didn't feel comfortable taking photos of everything, seeing as I was the only other person in the shop. I thought it might be a bit rude. But I've included some photos of her manufacture below (sourced from her public FaceBook page).

30127852_1900129566945605_280409154806349824_o.jpg

26112043_1853632061595356_2013549663318823897_n.jpg

23231589_1824480621177167_5268225971409684869_n.jpg

Proof that I was there

unnamed.jpg

This is my crummy photo that I took whilst figuring out how to contact the owner to arrange an appointment. I guess that will have to do for proof that was there! When I get home in a couple days, I will photograph the things that we bought and add them to the proof!

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Horizontal Rulers by cryptosharon
Team Australia footer by bearone
Account banner by jimramones

LEAVE THIS PART AS IS

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=bengy
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=gaia-ceramic-design-steemitworldmap


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 2.77% upvote!
I was summoned by @bengy. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

This post has received a 1.36 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @bengy.

This post has received a 4.13 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71315.89
ETH 3677.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76