How to Make The Most Of Your NYSC Orientation Camp

in #steemjet6 years ago

I remember vividly some few years back after being notified of my service to my country. I was seemingly ecstatic about it and couldn't wait to be at the camp ground.

After receiving series of advice and warnings from my parents that night, I set off to leave for a land I have never been before.

It was scary, exciting and fun.
image

The NYSC orientation camp is usually a two or three weeks intensive training for intending corps members.

In my own case, it was three weeks and I'm not sure how long it is now.

But it's basically to get you prepared ahead for the one year youth service.

A lot of activities and trainings are being held during this orientation camp and you must be prepared physically and mentally for all the drillings you'll get.

Not to worry, it'll be so much fun in the end

Here are few tips to help you make the most of your Orientation Camp

Obey the Instructions From The Soldiers

Immediately I got to the camp, even at the gate, before entering, I was asked to put my luggage on my head and start jogging from where I was down to the gate.

I tell you, it was annoying.
You can imagine the stress I went through from Lagos down to Ebonyi state, then one stupid soldier will say I should start jogging.

Well, I obeyed sha.

I'm a good girl 😉
image
One of the slay queens who refused to obey with claims that she was tired was severely dealt with.

So, if you don't want to get in the bad books of the soldiers, just obey their every instruction.

Get Involved In Your Platoon Activities

According to your NYSC card number (they'll issue you an identity card at the camp ground), you will be divided into groups which are known as platoon.

These platoons are expected to carry out activities together and compete against each other.

It is important that you actively get involved in these activities so as to be carried along and perhaps, be recognized.

Volunteer To Serve

To make the camp more interesting, fun and worthwhile, there are groups put in place and run by fellow corps members to make these happen.

There are different groups such as The Band, OBS(Orientation Broadcasting Service), Medical health care etc.

All these are voluntary services and avenues for service.

In my time, I served with the OBS crew even though I was an Accounting graduate.

My good service with them made me get posted to the state's broadcasting service for my one year course.

Socialize

No one needs to be told the importance of socializing in a gathering. It'll only make new friends for you.

I'm a very friendly person and the few friends I made in camp really made it worthwhile for me.

I remember when I fell sick after a week or so, it was one of the persons I met there who stood by me to ensure I got better.

What if I had decided to be a lone wolf? 🤷🏻‍♀

Other tips to note are:

  • Attend the devotions which are usually held in the mornings to avoid the wrath of angry soldiers.

  • Befriend the soldiers, perhaps just to be on their good book..

The NYSC orientation camp is usually a fun filled few weeks experience.

But it will only be fun if you make it so.

Ensure you make the most of it.
image

P.S: All pictures are photos of me 3 years back 😉
My name is Juliet Israel and I enjoyed my orientation camp 😉

Cheers 🍻

Sort:  

You so rocked the uniform. Kill them.

Hahaha
Thanks Boss
Well, there's only one person I'd love to kill tho 😉

Corper Shun!😲

Hahaha
Ex corper 😂

Lolz.. Nice one...thanks for the tips dear!

Smiles....
Sure
You're welcome

Lovely.. Thanks for the tips. It'll sure help.

I'm glad it'd be of help
Thanks

You look amazing in dem attires..

Nice read too

Wow
Thanks much dear

You have always been pretty from day 1. The uniform suited you so well though.

U na madam o

Congratulations!,@julietisrael Your post has been upvoted by @reachout


Our goal is to support Minnows on Steemit.

Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn



Major Upvote Sponsor : @bleepcoin

SP Donation by @rufans & @solomon507


Join Our Trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=reachout

Greetings @julietisrael! Your post was chosen at random and was resteemed because you are one of our followers. Enjoy your free resteem!

If you wish to stop receiving this comment, please do unfollow us.

By upvoting this notification, you're supporting @Shareables.

Shareables - We resteem anything we find shareable. Always strive for quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

God bless from us @Shareables!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98