BeautifuLicious "Rose Potato Gratins" Recipe

in #steemkitchen6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1827.JPG

Welcome to:
IMG_0390.GIF

For the past few weeks, I've been sharing Filipino and Italian cuisine dishes which I've cook a few times. This time I'm going to share a French side dish recipe called "Rose Potato Gratin" which I've never done before.

I first had this dish in a restaurant where me and my husband celebrated our Anniversary in Paris three years ago. He's a potato and cheese lover and I love roses!that's why we both like this side dish. Aside from it's a bit crisp, it's rose shape makes it look more appetizing and it's easy to do. It was my first time to make it last night and I'm so happy that my first rose potato gratin was just right!

What is Potato Gratin??

Gratin is originated in French cuisine. It's a term use for culinary technique in which an ingredient is topped with a browned crust, often using breadcrumbs, grated cheese, egg and/or butter.

So without further ado, Let's go! and make it .


Recipe type: Side dish
Cuisine: French
Serves: 2-3 persons
Preparation time: 25 minutes
Baking time: 55 minutes

Ingredients

IMG_1813.JPG

  • 4 pcs. medium potatoes
  • 4 Tbsp Olive or cooking oil
  • 1 tbsp ground black pepper
  • 1 Tbsp Garlic Powder or chopped garlic
  • 1-2Tsp Kosher Salt to taste
  • 25 grams Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • Spices and herbs to taste (I use rosemary and parsley fresh from my herb pots).

Utencils

  • baking muffin pan
  • Mandolin slicer (or very sharp knife)
  • Bowl

Procedure

IMG_1828.JPG

  • Preheat oven to 180°C/360°F.
  • Use a mandolin slicer on a medium to thin setting to slice the potatoes. (In my case, I don't have a mandolin so I sliced the potatoes manually and it works fine.)
  • Mix all the potatoes with the grated pamesan, garlic, ground black pepper, salt and seasonings in a bowl.

The Art Of Rose Potatoes


There are different versions to make potato gratins and versions on how to create a rose shape potatoes: You can either arrange it straight inside the muffin pan or wrap with bacon.

Option 1.

IMG_1829.JPG

IMG_1817.JPG

  • Grease the muffin pan with melted butter.
  • Carefully lay around 9 to 10 slices of potato in a row and make sure they slightly overlap. Start with the larger size to the smallest one and there you have a full bloomed rose shape potatoes.

Option 2:

IMG_1830.JPG

  • Lay 2 pieces of bacon on a board or wide plate.

  • Arrange potato slices. Make sure they are slightly overlapping and half part of the potatoes are place above the bacon.

  • Roll the bacon and potatoes and carefully transfer into a cup of the muffin pan.

  • Repeat with the remaining ingredients. and there you have a semi open rose shape potatoes. 😉
    IMG_1833.JPG

  • Note: If you feel that the bacon doesn't look like it will hold the rose, you can use a skewer with cocktail sticks or toothpick to keep it in place.


  • Bake at 180°C for 50-55 minutes until the edges are cooked, golden and crispy.
  • Use a fork to lift the rose potatoes when it's done and serve hot with your main dish.

This classic potato gratin is easy to make, just few ingredients needed and perfect for a weekend romantic date night at home or dinner parties.
IMG_1823.JPG

IMG_1824.JPG

IMG_1825.JPG

IMG_1812.JPG

Bon appetit!!

All photos are mine unless stated otherwise .

Do you enjoy making and exploring different food recipes? Join the Steem Kitchen Discord

#baking #foodphotography #recipe #food-art #vegan

It Is Important To Vote For Our Witnesses


Consider casting your witness votes for: @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle) , @curie, @cloh76.witness, @yehey, @ausbitbank, @pharesim who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.
To cast your votes, Click here.

#ocd-resteem #steemph #steemitdavao #ulog

Have a joyful day Steemian!

IMG_0565.GIF

Sort:  

Oh my GOD those are beautiful !!!! And they don't seem that hard !!!!
Resteemed !!! - And I will write down the recipe soon! Romantic potatoes, LOVE them!!!

Tak for the support darling!
That's what I thought also. I feel like I'm going to failed it but it turns out well.

Congrats also on your 1 yr. Steemit journey!
Those smiley cookies looks too adorable to eat😋

That's a picture from a bakery when I was still living in Rome by the way! The looked SO happy that I couldn't resist :D

Making this dish is meticulous and intricate. I'm not creative in the kitchen. I try sometimes though, but I'm just not that artistic. Thank you for sharing your recipe and the photos. They look amazing by the way.

I love art and doing something special for my love ones is somehting I enjoy to do. ❤️

I'm sure your also artistic in other ways.

Thank you also for sharing those discord lists!
Have a nice day!

Thank you! I have yet to discover my artistic side. I don't even know if it actually exists. Haha!

Yes, those Discord groups are awesome, hey! Lots of lovely and friendly people!

I love potatoes! :) resteem.

I need to follow you from now on. :)

Oh damn..I'm so hungry right now! It looks so beautiful and tasty! 😊💕

I think you can get many wows here, so i will write mine in capitols.....WOW.

WOW, and I hope the SBD/STEEM price will wow us also! lol

thank you! 😃

These look fantastic! Especially since it is breakfast time here. Nothing like some bacon and taters in the morning. Thanks for sharing this great post! The composition is beautiful.

Awwe, Thank you Bozz!

I've read your gardening post earlier.
Hope your cherry tomatoes grows well!

Thank you!

EEks, so beautiful, I have to make some. I actually thought this was one of your paintings when I saw a cover lol.

Hahahah I enjoy doing food-art also.
It entertains me a lot, lol

This is my first time hearing potato Gratin. This is awesome and French dish. Keep and cooking. @joyrobinson

Wow this looks awesome, this is my first time hearing Potato Gratin. Your flower 🌺 design look amazing!! Thks for sharing.

Your welcome & thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66