Blowing Up Logos (w/7000 VOLTS) (UPDATED)

in #steemmakers6 years ago (edited)

Per Request by @jefpatat, Im am blowing up a @steemmakers logo. I used my capacitor bank charged up to 7000 Volts and sent it through a SteemMakers Logo that was made out of steal wire. Of course I put a capacitor in the middle for the dramatic and effect, and EXPLOSION!!!

Im so happy I was able to capture it on my phone camera, it does slow mo at 1000fps. The problem with this phone is it only records that at 0.16 seconds, thats about the time it takes me to push the button. I only had one chance at getting this right and it happened.

ezgif.com-gif-maker (2).gif

I tried to improve the contrast by putting in a green background, and sorry but it didnt work. But it was better then the background. Either way, its still SOOOO COOOL!!!

Here is a better quality video:

Let me know what else you want to see me send 7000 volts in.

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Hey buddy!! I can really feel that you are having lot of fun there!! How did you reach the 7000 V with wht kind of circuit??

I used a ZVS Driver and a Flyback Transformer, it takes like 10 minutes to fully charge the 7200 Volt Capacitor bank. I dont actually charge them up to 7200 becuase I dont balance charge them. I need to make a better circuit.

How many amps are you getting out ?? I think the charging time can be very much improved. What is the rating of the ZVS(rating of the MOSFETS) ?? How are the capacitors connected to each other (series or parallel) ??

Haha. So fun! We used to make high voltages for ultrasonic transceivers. But that was 300V. This is just pure fun 😀

That is also a nice project ! What did you use it for the ultrasonic transceiver at such rating ?? If all was well built i am sure that it was very powerfull!

I was only partially involved in the hardware part. I was writing the VHDL code for the FPGA. The goal was to identify multiple obstacles in a range to 20m. So not detect a wall but more like a laser scanning for objects. There were quite some experiments in shaping the ultrasonic wave to achieve better results. To be honest I don't remember all of it, this was like 15 years ago when I was doing research at the university.

Cool ! i think it would shape anything with that power !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14