You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A ShoutOut To All High Level Deck Steemmonsters Players

in #steemmonsters5 years ago (edited)

Hi Mike

I registered for that tournament yesterday but fell asleep with the laptop on my legs :)

Having played and done OKin bernies tournament last week, I was interested to spread the word and take part in the 'cuddles' tournament. As you state, I have a 'high level deck' but it was not enough to match the competitors in the 'gold level' rules last week. So I'm wondering where I stand.

And I'm also wondering what else the hosts could do other than limit the level in the SM interface to try to give accounts a fair chance? Yes we can ask stronger players to abstain, but I feel that is like asking bloggers that attract decent rewards not to post - seems unlikely to happen.

I know your heart is in the right place with this, but I don't think the fault lies with the hosts and feel that they have done what they can to try to promote the game and offer a chance to all, with the tools/settings they have available to them.

Of course, these are still early days and I'm sure their will be other mechanisms brought in to try to level the playing field and separate the players out fairly in the future.

Sort:  

I never meant to point my finger at the hosts, not at the higher level players. I just hoped to trigger some common sense.

And it seems to have worked, lol. They will be banning the legendaries from the rest of the novice tournaments to level the field a bit.
I don't know whether this will be enough, but I'm very grateful for their willingness to give the little guys at least a chance that is a little more fair

If it would have just been 'novice level', I don't think I would have felt the same. Maybe I wouldn't even have thought about all this, who knows? But the fact that it was announced as a tourney

for players who do not have a lot of funds to spend on cards or who have just recently discovered this addictive game which has us all hooked. This is your opportunity to get some liquid funds to spend on the market and level up your cards!

made it seem totally wrong for all the higher level decks (and even more important: players with loads of experience) to sign up an go for the prize money.

Like I said in my post, I signed up too, but with the intention to donate the prize money to the real novices.

As you state, I have a 'high level deck' but it was not enough to match the competitors in the 'gold level' rules last week. So I'm wondering where I stand.

I know how that feels. Although my deck is leveled enough to play gold tournaments, it's never enough to match my competitors there. I'm stuck to silver and bronze, although I keep trying in Gold. The guy I can't get passed - can't remember his name for now - will have a bad day eventually , and maybe I can beat him then and move higher up in the tourneys. :0)

Understood.

Banning legendary's is something that should have been considered and implemented as a 'novice' tournament, perhaps the hosts missed this (I had no clue) as I believe it's their first attempt at hosting too.

So, if I had stayed awake and played, do you think it would have been unfair considering I have a lob-sided deck and have only entered one tournament before? I'm still undecided :)

Perhaps if i'd played and won 'easily' , then I would have paid the prize forward to some of the novice entrants, but without knowing what tournaments I can compete in and where I stand in the ranks, I'm a bit lost still.

Anyway, I think i've found my level in the season league now, 100 cards and 3800-3900 will have to do!

I couldn't say, since I don't understand what a lob-sided deck is, lol.

I'm very grateful people are taking it upon them ro organize tourneys, but imho, too many mistakes are being made. That's why a couple of us are going to host a couple of TP-only tournaments, to find out what can go wrong and be prepared. Also, it wil give the TP players who have little experience in joining tourneys, a chance to find out how they work.
No huge prizes for the winners, but just gaining experiencing and discovering the fun of playing tourneys in a safe enviroment.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90