Steem Monsters writing competition pre-announcement: how to build a Faction culture

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

Logo2.png

So, I'm going to be offering one of the biggest writing competitions on the block that I've seen on the block. It'll go live in the next few days here. I need help building out the lore of the game so I know what the campaign setting will look like. In order to do that I wrote two documents. The first is a process doc and the second is a template to use.

The Steem Monsters Discord group is here: https://discord.gg/CAFJRjY

Here's the process doc: https://hackmd.io/npOH7pi0TwqVg7gOVje5ww

Here's the Template. Please don't edit my actual template.

https://hackmd.io/jwx6BF5kQt6dKZS-d9WVWg

Value system inside the template

As part of the template doc I'm giving some weird instructions in order to fill out a value system for the various Splinters (colors). I know that the instructions might be a little confusing so I put together a 2 minute video to describe how these things can work. The values to me are the most important as it will inform the rest of the decisions that you make as you describe them.

This is what i came up with. You're gonna need this in your template for review.

Minor word of caution

The contest is a bunch of work. It'll take a team. If you make the team too big I can imagine a lot of fighting. If you make the team too small I imagine a lot of work. I think having 4-5 people is probably the right number of people to make getting the work done not too hard. It's enough people to provide ideas, but maybe not clash entirely. You're gonna want one person facilitating the discussion. It will likely work best if they aren't super invested in the section they are facilitating.

After getting some of the values done and the basic backstory then I think it makes sense to break the template down into mini sections that a person is responsible for. Claim what you want to write. Collaborate where it's more than 1 person. It's gonna be work, but it should be fun!

Sort:  

Am still tryna understand what steem monsters is all about it has been trending@aggroed

I am somewhat interested in the writing aspect of the game. I have seen the video above, I think I understand it, and I have read both of the hackmo documents. I have tried to write two short stories for various steemmonster writing contest, they are available on my blog page. If you are building a writing team and would like another individual I would be interested. My feelings would not be hurt if you later decide I am just not a fit or up to snuff for the writing/thinking or a good fit personality wise on the team, so no worries there.

maybe you can help explain it to me? LOL helpppp

knowledge full video
awssome......

I am in. Got to make a team first......... will get back ASAP

that's exactly the goblins in world of warcraft, in fact the general image of goblins in the game industry.

Good to see that I wasn't the only one who saw the word "boomstick" (as goblins call it) implied in the video. Goblins in Magic the Gathering are similar but with less advanced technology. Every time someone mentions a goblin I picture a Siege-Gang Commander, a goblin card from Magic which is a well-built goblin who weaponizes smaller baby-sized goblin with spiky heads. Creative and low on technology but very much reckless, I love it.

Let the contest begin

Its really intelligient.creative mind i see.keep it up@aggroed

Hello! I hope you don't mind @aggroed but I will spam this post to announce all the @steemmonsters fans that I am giving away all my collection. If you are passionate feel free to participate. Hope this will help somebody really passionate!

Interesting article. I subscribed to you. Subscribe to me. Let's be friends

This video is very helpful!! Thank you!

Yes, I'm kinda seeing what he's looking for now. So this will be good for our white team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95