Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 10 - - - "Virgil - Skeleton Assassin"

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

Virgil

          I ask no pity from those of the living, for I can not ask for that, which I have none of. I know what I am, and I know why I am what I am. I made the choice. I chose the path of silent vengeance, of unknown retribution. I took up this path when I was but a child of ten years old. I swore I would kill each and every one of them, I burned as many of their faces into my memory as I could.

          As I grew, I hid from the world what was inside me. I hid it well. The first came by chance, a drunk wandering down a dark alley I was practicing in when I was but twelve years old. I had no fear as he approached, I saw his face, I knew he was one. I took my short sword I was practicing with and as he approached I slid it between his ribs and into his heart. Not a word was spoken by me, none needed to be said. He was here, I was here, and he would die.

          It was a surprise to me how easy he had died. At first I wanted him to suffer, to feel pain, but then from somewhere a voice, "is it not better him not knowing why he died"? I was twelve, I did not believe the voice was real and thought it my justification for what I had done. The voice was forgotten. But the words never were. They all died without knowing. Only one would know the reason why, and he would be the last.

Source @steemmonsters

          My family and that of four others were moving to a new place, to a new life my father and the other fathers said. We had been on the road for five days. We had had no troubles and had seen no evidence of banditry or violence along the roads we traveled. The few guards we had were growing lax. There were some comments and questions from our leader on the first evening when a few of the guards were "leering" at wives. The leader of the guards took the matter to heart and the last few days everything seemed fine.

          We all awoke on day six, and loaded the wagons and got on the road in short order, after five days we were well practiced. The guards were well practiced as well. They all took off to points along the trail. Our leader slowed his wagon down and stood to call over the guard leader. He had we assumed an adequate answer for the leader continued unconcerned about the actions. As we rounded a bend in the trail all the guards were spaced along the trail watching left and right as if expecting something.

          The lead wagon approached alongside the farthest guard after passing the others, the guard looked at our leader tipped his hat, then swung a large hook at his wagons wheel and fired off his pistol. All along the trail of wagons hooks were tossed to the wheels, pistols fired horse bolted, and wagons toppled. The guards jumped from their horse and went toward the wagons, about 30 men streamed down a small rise toward us.

          The wagon drivers had their hands full trying to stop the horses from bolting and doing more damage to the wagons, they were unable to help do anything. I was thrown from our wagon, my father rushed to help me, he was killed as he reached me. The bandits took me, they made me watch, I do not know why they chose me to be the survivor, why they killed raped and murdered everyone else, making me watch it all. My heart died that night, and was replaced with vengeance and retribution.

Source @steemmonsters

          I walked down the palace road, it was not restricted to people, the king was a good man. Every five steps I dropped a weapon. People starting looking and wondering as I walked. the guards started following me closer, They had a scribe retrieve the weapons I had left. I had no need for them anymore. I was shedding that which I had used in my vengeance, every five steps getting lighter as my heart was growing heavier.

          I approached the palace steps, and continued my trek, fifty four weapons dropped so far. I continued to shed them. I approached the doors to the common hearing room, where the king would receive his people. I was not of his people, but he would receive me. I continued down the red carpet to the receiving dias, continuing to drop weapons. the guards were getting very nervous. I looked to the King and to his Armsmen, "Fear not Lord, and fear not for your Lord' I said to them both. "I have but one knife left, and I ask that you allow me to use it my Lord".

          I looked right into the Armsmen's eyes as I spoke to the King. "I have left a trail of my crimes as many would see it, my vengeance and retribution on those that killed and murdered my family and five other families twenty years ago. Along the path I have walked seventy-two men have died. There is but one man left. None of the seventy-two knew the why, they did not even know the who. They just died. When I was twelve I heard a voice, it is only now I know what that voice was, and why it spoke and what my future is." I continued to stare at the Armsmen as I spoke to the King. I could see he was slightly flustered at me not directing my story directly at him, but he allowed me to go one. The Armsmen was frozen in place.

          "Five wagons, my King, five days of travel, and then on day six the murder. I was made to watch each and every murder, each and every rape and atrocity committed by those seventy-two men. There is but one man left to die my King, and that is the man that held me and made me watch. That is the only man, of those seventy-two that will know why he died. That man my King is your Armsmen standing beside you". With those words I drew and threw my dagger, it flew true, it cut through his coat, and sank deep into his heart. I watched as he knees buckled, and as he fell forward.

          I lived for another thirty years, serving the King as his private assassin. My retribution was fulfilled, my vengeance sated. My skills grew over those thirty years, and now I serve a new King, a new master. When I was living I was known as Virgil, though none knew my name til I came under the service of the King. In Death I retained my name, for my new Lord enjoyed the fear it provoked in the living.

Source @steemmonsters

Here is the link to @steemmonsters story contest entry. Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 10 I have been having a lot of fun learning to write these little stories, I am not a writer yet, but I feel as if I am getting better, so take a chance on yourself, and try your hand at a short story.

Sort:  

Very nicely done. Build the skill, the why, the mastery. It is an awesome storyline and I just could not stop reading. I love the silent kill, except for the one who held him, and turned him into what he had become, an assassin.

Thank you, I really enjoyed writing this story, I mean I enjoy all my tries at writing, but this was the most enjoyable so far.

It was enjoyable to read too, and you got that curie vote which makes it even better. I don't think I put out the type content that they like.
Have a great evening and hopefully you will win the contest too...

That was a total surprise to me, the curie vote. One whole year of post, and my second curie both of them after the one year mark, both of them for steemmonster stories. A total surprise on both of them, because I am just a beginning writer, I don't even have the concept of first person/third person down.

I hear you, I not much of a writer either. It is hard for me because I do a lot of technical writing, which to me is a total brain shift from what everyone wants to see on here. I have trouble not nerding out on a scientific or technical post.

Wow what a tale. I kept reading and reading and I could feel the crescendo of it as he approarched the king.

What a wonderful tale of vengeance.

I had such a hard time with the divine healer card, this one it was like jump to the create post, it popped in my head like boom. Thank you very much, it means a lot to me as I have enjoyed several of your stories.

Wow! What a history you have given that card! I wonder if I have him on my meager collection.

It has been fun writing the stories, I need a lot more practice at writing, but one day I will have enough, until then, it is fun to try.

You are a really great writer!⭐

@bashadow I think you are well on your way to becoming a fantastic writer. You gave this character depth by giving a backstory and a story to go along with it. It was well written and I could see no grammatical errors in it. It was such an interesting story for the Skeleton Assassin. Great job! Keep writing these stories for #steemmonsters. I hope you win the contest!

Thank you very much, that was very nice for me to read.

You're welcome! It was such an enchanting story!

Hi bashadow,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Houaa!that was a pretty cool story!!good luck for contest i really enjoyed the part of the walk toward the king while dropping his weapons that was a great idea and it really tickles to know what is going to happen once he finally get to him;)

Quite unlikely that the King would let the assassin live after displaying a show like that. But for the sake of finishing up a story, I don't mind the ending. Maybe the King was a good judge of character to see through the unconventional introductions. It was a good read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86