Steemmonsters Season3 First Impressions: Is It Meant To Be This Way?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

OK, I admit that the old rules of the game had become a little boring and I was very eager to see the new changes. That's why I didn't bother to think much about what they are to bring. Now, after a couple of games, one daily quest and promotion to the Bronze 3 I feel rather disappointed.

The first thing I noticed is that I meet higher level opponents. All my summoners are still level 1, and before Season 3 I usually played against level 1 opponents. Since yesterday I'm put against level2 summoners with level3 cards and I obviously have no chances. I hope this is due to rating reset and the things will settle down with time.

Second comes the frequent changing of rules. I may be missing the point here, but to me this just killed the strategy in the game. Up till now I used to watch the battles to see how my team is performing (even if I copied a successful team - who hasn't done that?), tried to find and elliminate any weak spots to achieve even better results. Also having stable rules for longer period allowed for some training, testing what works and building a successful team.
Since Season 3 I don't see any reason to watch the games anymore, because it is very unlikely to play under same conditions any time soon. I just blindly build a team (knowing my opponent's previous matches is absolutely useless without knowing the rules he played at) and then, as soon as the waiting progress bar disappears, I click on battle menu to see the result in the battle log and start anoter battle.

Then we get to the daily quest - most important change here is the number of games required - only 5 instead of 10. That's really good, because as I already said, there is no use in watching battles, so... the fewer the better. Being bound to a single splinter for the quest does not add any strategic element either.

And to end up my ranting: the most important skill now has become the ability to remember which teams perform well by the given rules. And who (or should I say what) is best at keeping track and analyzing statistics - time will show

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by beco132 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99