General Caleon - Love, Trust, Revenge. (continuation of Selenia Sky story)

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

It has been some time since my Selenia Sky story. @leeart nudged me the other day by asking when the next segment would come out. He was willing to sacrifice some mosquitoes for my writing inspiration! 😁

I know some of you want to journey on the adventure with Selenia Sky and Adelaine, the Dragon Queen, but my creative mind wants to introduce another character to the story. Remember, I don't dictate how the story evolves. Blame it on my creative mind. Meet General Caleon! There is a part two for Caleon's story which will come out in a few days. It will pick up with that memory from the tavern...might not be rated PG....

drg_3_500_X300.jpg

Dove_divider_.png


Many of you know that music is my inspiration. I came across this piano piece from @drewley, a talented musician here on Steemit when writing this story. Please stop by a recent post of @drewley to show your support!

Storyline Thus Far:

Selenia Sky was found abandoned as a baby on the sandy shores of Asherah, and adopted by a Lord family into the kingdom. She was beloved by all, especially by Prince Allanthe and Princess Adelaine. The people of Asherah has the magical ability to shapeshift from human to winged-form through a gift given from a spirit called the Flame of Life. As a result, dragons once again roamed the sky above. Before them, dragons had gone missing for over a thousand years and were only lore of legend.

The Kingdom of Asherah was brought to devastation when a Dark Summoner, Chromatic Dragon, and a legion of dragons laid siege to their land. Prince Allanthe sacrificed his life to save Selenia Sky. The sole survivors are Selenia Sky and Princess Adelaine, who by all rights, is now Queen of the Kingdom. The flame of life has been extinguished and Princess Adelaine can no longer shapeshift into human form. Selenia Sky and Queen Adelaine the Dragon, must now travel to the West to seek revenge and for the return of the flame of life.

Caleon, General of Asherah


The wind caressed his feathers with gentle currents. Invisible kisses trailed down his body with whispery breaths tickling his ear. The cool exhalation of air journeying down to his leathery tail. Whoosh, whoosh, whoosh. The sound of wing beats sang harmoniously in the air. Almost home, Caleon thought. His dragon form purred contently. He could see the peak of Mount Zioneous in the far distance. Twenty thousand wingbeats, he estimated. It would take twenty thousand wing beats before the coastline of their island would be in view.

Caleon’s dragon form roared at the thought of returning home. A thundering escapade of dragon roars filled the quiet sky. Small birds scrambled to fly away from the dragons, who but a minute ago, were docile creatures such as they.

It was a fortnight ago when Allanthe sent Caleon on a mission of obscurity. It was the time of year to visit the Northmen, a tradition of gathering and a celebration of friendship and alliance during the Solstice celebration. Allanthe, Prince of the Kingdom of Asherah, made this journey in past years. Allanthe had asked Caleon to journey in his stead on this one occasion.

“There are whispers of darkness approaching our sand. I fear there may be truth in these words of dark omen. As Prince of the realm, I dare not leave our people in this time of uncertainty. Your legion you will leave in Asherah. As my General and most trusted friend, and one day brother, there is no one I trust more with this task.”

Allanthe says the latter with laughter in his voice. Allanthe knew Caleon’s deepest desire for his sister, Adelaine. Caleon would not admit such feelings, but he could see the yearning in his friend’s eyes when Adelaine was near. A man has to be blind not to see, Allanthe thought. Afterall, his own eyes yearned with passion for his dear Selenia Sky.

Dragon_helm.jpg

"I want you to select five scores of your most trusted men. Join the celebration and be merry. Tell the men to keep their eyes and ears open. Listen for news of trouble from the West. Who is this Dark Summoner and legion of dragons he is leading? Learn of the truth, my friend. Rumors travel to us from merchants and traveling bards. We are too isolated to know what is true and what is a lie. The North is a corridor for merchants across the seas. I have hope it is there you will find the answers we seek. We need to know what dark omen is heading our way and prepare ourselves with what is to come.”

Allanthe stared across his serene countryside. Our folks know naught of war, he thought. He would do all in his power to keep it so. His voice brimming with trust and determination, Allanthe relayed his private thoughts to his General.

“We will not let destruction reign on our land, Caleon. We must protect our people at all cost. The most trusted telling of events say the Dark Summoner is by the Burnt Lands, which is over a sidereal month’s journey from us. I dare not take the chance of being ill-prepared if the rumors are true. Upon your return in a fortnight, we will inform our people of the news you gather. We will prepare our people for battle, if must. Asherah has been a realm of peace and prosperity. Our people know naught of war; not in two hundred years. Not since the Alliance with the Northmen.”

Caleon studied his childhood friend. His green eyes were the color of the serene grasslands on most days. They were now the the color of the stormy sea off the coastlands; an area the young ones were forbidden to swim.

“I will return in a fortnight with news. If Sky is on our side, we will return in time for the celebration of the Skies”, Caleon assured his friend, his Prince. Allanthe had not once treated Caleon as an inferior, but he dared not call Prince Allanthe his brother out loud. They were of different ranks. In his heart, Allanthe was his brother in all but name. He would travel to the ends of the ocean to protect the Kingdom of Asherah. It was his home, as much as the kingdom which Prince Allanthe would one day inherit. He would protect this kingdom for his childhood friend and brother.

Thunderclaps in the far distance interrupted his thought. If it hadn’t been for the unexpected storm blowing from the South, we would have been home thrice days past, Caleon thought. They would not have missed the yearly celebration where all souls on the island shapeshifted into their wing-formed and took flight across the sky. He regret having missed the sight of the beautiful Princess Adelaine in her dragon beauty.

As another thunder boomed across the heavens, Caleon’s thoughts drifted to a different memory of the past. A memory less ominous but just as dark and dangerous. A memory of a dark corner of a tavern, filled with the musky smell of tuberose flowers and heated with passionate kisses from a certain princess...

Dove_divider_.png

beeyou copy-paula.final.jpg


Image sources: Dragon, Dragon Helm,Dove Divider

Previous Posts:
Selenia Sky - Part 1
Adelaine, the Dragon Queen - Part 2

Sort:  

The dragon was really pretty in the darker thumbnail.
Maybe you can make a Youtube video with pictures and music with your story?

Very good post @beeyou... I knew you were a writer all along! Just needed to get motivated, that's all :)

Supportive as always, Dave. Appreciate you taking the time to stop by. I know @newbiegames is keeping you busy with the Minnow/Newbie Palooza! Absolutely great job you are doing there helping others. :)

I need the go back and read part 1
This looks awesome!
I stopped myself from reading further so I can go back.
But my thoughts so far
🦄🦄🦄🌈🌈🌈❤️❤️❤️

Hey @artgirlnyc! Appreciate you stopping by. :) I just started writing fiction, so it's a new style of writing for me. Be kind when you read. I hope you enjoy the story. The songs inspired the direction of the story and we both love music!

Also you’ve inspired me
I’m going to try writing some fantasy work!

Tag me when you write a story so I know to stop by. I don't always catch posts on my feed. I look forward to reading it!

Someone keeps saying they cant write lol.

Me most days...

I love it and how h would react to the devastation wrought in their lands.

I love it that you are expounding more on the lore and giving it shape.

That is so awesome that you are still following along! It’s encouraging to know you guys like the story. I haven’t even planned ahead yet to the reaction; hopefully I will know how to write that part.

Ahhh @beeyou, you've found your calling :) Thank you @leeart for pushing her along! Loved it! I can write fiction, but fantasy just doesn't come to me, so I'm in awe of this :)

Hey Lynn. I stopped by your blog to see what fiction story you were talking about. It was good! The one where you finished the story. I didn’t know you started writing fiction too. It is fun, isn’t it?

Problem with writing fiction/fantasy for me is that I have no patience to get into the descriptive details. It’s so boring when I try to do it. I seem to like developing the storyline more so than getting into the details. I wonder what will happen next; even I don’t know! 😂

Hey @beeyou! I actually used to write all the time; English teacher after all :) Real life just got in the way, but now I remember how much I enjoy it. I hear you about the descriptive details; so many get caught up with too much of it that it takes away from the story, in my humble opinion :)

I know what you mean about not knowing what's going to happen next. That's the beauty of fiction; it often happens as you write!

Congratulations @beeyou! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Oh crap! I am sorry @beeyou, I missed your story! But reading this later and hopefully I’ll catch another on time. Hope you’re well!

Hi Linny, no worries. My story is just me trying to venture into fiction writing. I've never tried writing a story before. Will probably never do it as a living, but it was fun writing it. I see you have a new post out yourself. I will add it to my reading list. I'm so behind with my comments. I hope you are well over there in your corner of the world and finding balance with work, family, and steemit, plus your other interests.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99