Watcher (fantasy short-story)

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

PshecE4.jpg

'Many a strange creature has been added to the Lands through magick. Some are mere curiosities, created simply to see whether they could be. Others are formed with the will and intent of their maker ensorcelled into their very being. The true purpose of such a creature may often be most surprising,' Ramblings of an Unknown Mage, Chapter the Third: On Creatures and Creations

To the Lord High Paladin I am a curiosity picked up in a far bazaar of the East. Feral, he called me. His 'small feral creature' as I hissed my kitten defiance in a way carefully calculated to amuse and engage his base protective instincts.
"Such a fierce creature," he mocked. "Come, you can guard my castle." He was delighted to discover I could smile and grinned back as I purred my little heart out. I was his creature from that moment onward.

It was in this manner that I came to reside in the Alabaster Castle of the Paladins. I grew up, watching from the shadows. Every movement. Every meeting. I kept hidden the fact that I could dissipate as a fog under the door, infiltrate the tiniest cracks in the walls. Even more secret, the fatal venom tipping my softly sheathed claws.

When the old chaplain died there was an uproar. Clearly, he had been attacked in a most grotesque way and the castle was searched for evidence of infiltrators. Actually, it was simply that his heart had failed, the look of terror frozen on his long face after seeing me slipping away beneath the door into the night. I hadn't even had to kill that one. There were, of course, others. Found purple in the face from poison. Drowned in their baths. Passed out in their meals within the privacy of their chambers.

There were inquiries that followed. Searches of the grounds and knights' chambers. On these occasions, my Lord would look at me with great sorrow - sharing his private grief with me alone. Stroking my soft, wisp-like fur. "There are enemies among us," he would say. Breeding mistrust. Rotting that great old Order from the inside out.

Many of the Knights have left. The Order is fracturing under the strain. There are accusations flying through those great halls like poisonous daggers. None may be trusted. In a few short years, the traditions of centuries may be undone. Hardly the work of one, gently grinning, little cat.

Soft paws is what my real Master calls me. He who created me from the leftover fragments of order and balance. Sometimes it is necessary to foment chaos. Only in its wake can true order be restored. He is happy with what I've accomplished here and now my path leads elsewhere. I feel the pull of his summons as I sit, quietly bidding goodbye to my hapless, sleeping 'rescuer.' When he awakes, I too will be gone.

Flavor text: 'Sometimes restoring order means first causing chaos.'

This is an entry for the Steemmonsters contest here:
https://steemit.com/contest/@steemmonsters/steem-monsters-common-card-fantasy-story-contest-week-4

Sort:  

Such amazing writing! Love this!

Thanks so much - glad you enjoyed it :)

This is a tired phrase I know but, you "have a way with words." Everything you write has such a nice flow to it. Well done!

Thanks. I really enjoyed yours as well ☺️

Great story. I have to ask.. was it the feral spirit that killed them all?

That was the idea yeah ☺️

That's awesome!

Cool! I like how you added the stuff about his combat abilities.

Sometimes the most powerful warrior is the one who shows it the least. Now I'm afraid of the Feral spirit.

Congratulations @foxfiction! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @foxfiction! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Play-off for third result


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Haven’t seen you enter my haiku contest in a while! New round just opened - candy!

https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/contest-vdux-haiku-mosh-pit-2-sbds-and-more-for-the-winner

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55