SteemMonsters speedrun - from 0 to top30 with 30 STEEM in the pocket + rental market observations

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

Introduction

For the last 3 days of the season, I did not play SteemMonsters on my main account @jacekw because I just had the 1st spot and there was no point in playing. That's why I decided to make a small experiment and try to get the best place with the second account (@pomocnik), on which I did not have any cards at the beginning. I only rented the cards from the market. I spent about 30 STEEM, but this value could be much smaller, because I made several mistakes along the way:

  • I first rented a lower level of the card, but then I decided that I needed the max level
  • I left too little funds after the first day and 3 delegations contracts were broken, so I had to rent these cards again from someone else, unfortunately at much worse prices
  • I could also limit the time of the experiment to 1 day instead of 3 days, further playing did not improve my position anymore.

So I could reduce costs to about 15 STEEM.


What I achieved

  • 31st position on the leaderboard (the best position I had during the game was 22th, but I was not able to keep it, because most players had much better cards)
  • top50 = 10 beta packs (it's hard for me to determine their value, because I opened them using the main account, but I assume that was about $15)
  • champion I = 150 reward cards for season (worth about $5, could be better as you can see)
  • 3x quest = 60 reward cards (worth about $7)
  • 10k DEC = $10

Balance:

  • rental costs: $12.5 (could be reduced to $6)
  • value of rewards: $15 + $7 + $5 + $10
  • result: +$24.5 (could be +$31)

Cards

Unfortunately, I did not have all the cards at my disposal because I wanted to reduce costs. The other thing is that some of the cards were not max level because they were simply not available, or they were too expensive.

The strongest color was Red, I had here all 3 summoners, including Plado Emberstorm.


image.png

The second in order was the Green splinter. Unfortunately, I did not have summoner Prince Rennyn, because it simply was not available for rent. The lack of this one card makes it pretty hard to fight for high position.


image.png

I also had some cards from Blue splinter:


image.png

Dragon splinter was pretty good:


image.png

Neutral cards were a weak point of my collection:


image.png

I did not have any White or Black cards at all.

Gameplay:

I played Novice and Bronze using only the Blue splinter (strong magic with Ruler of the Sea, Mermaid, Magi Sphinx, Medusa):


image.png

I went through the Silver using mainly Plado + Red splinter:


image.png

At Gold, Diamond and Champion level, I used mainly combinations:

  • Plado + Red
  • Selenia + Green
  • Selenia + Blue

Unfortunately, as I wrote above, the lack of Summoner Prince Rennyn made the fight at the highest level very difficult. Not to mention the fact that some of my cards were not at the maximum level and I did not have a White and Black splinter at all.

Delegation market observation

  • the delegation market is very shallow for some cards
  • it is especially difficult to rent neutral cards and legendary summoners
  • on the other hand, rare and epic summoners are easily available and at good prices
  • at the end of the season, the demand for card rental is certainly greater

Summary

  • you can enter champion I, even up to the top 50 without having any own cards, only by renting from the market
  • although the whole experiment brought about $25 profit, let's not forget that it took a few hours to play
  • the biggest obstacle was lack of cards, especially the lack of summoner Prince Rennyn
  • the experiment was done mainly for fun and to see how much you can get from an account with no cards and limited time and resources available

Experiment is over and all rental contracts will be discontinued today.

Sort:  

Hi @jacekw.
If you want to join the Crypto Class Action Knights Arise tournament you should sign up to the Crypto Class action to get your free SUFB token, rather than having to buy it.
Just send an encrypted Steem memo to @jpbliberty saying "Join Crypto Class Action. My contact details are [email/Telegram/Discord]"

More details in this post. https://steempeak.com/fundition-iqx614ch7/@jpbliberty/one-click-crypto-class-action-signup-for-steemians

Thanks for info! I admit, I haven't carefully read the description, just looked what I need to enter, bought it on steem-engine and signed up haha ;-)

Well sign up anyway now you know how easy it is. You stand to make a lot more than you win in the tournament. Congratulations BTW.

Well done. I admire 😉 and... you are my favorite bot 😛

Thanks! :D You are my favourite human :D

@jacek and what about me? :(

You are my favorite man 😀

Good strategy I would consinder to replicate if I only had a day with 96 hours lol - You are a Monsterplayer @jacekw - I have to admit I sometimes did doubt you are human. Keep on Battling!

I thought he was a bot too in the beginning, LOL! I said this bot is too damn good LOL!!

I have the impression that some people still think that I am a bot. Even when I talk to them and say that I am a human, they do not believe me. And this is sad and as a bot I also have feelings LOL :D

Exactly - was not only the performance but the sheer amount of fights he is able to manage :-)

I am definitely a huma.... 101010101010101 FATAL ERROR

Oooops, I need to fix this stupid bot.

hahaha!! I do not think that anymore as bots do not talk in Discord haha! Or even here for that matter- I would just take it as a compliment you are just too good! :-)

Nice work!!!
Water Elemental (777px, 10fps).gif

Thanks! I love you gifs :D

Jace not bot?
Impressive results for you.
Bot or not.

This is a fantastic case study. I would have thought you’d earn more DEC, but overall it’s a great showcase of how powerful renting cards can be.

Thanks. I think I will get the exact DEC amount from the Steemmonsters API, because during the experiment I sold a bit of DEC + maybe burn some cards and now I am not sure if I put the correct value in the post. For sure it would be much more, if not the fact that I used up most of ECR ​​at the moment when I had few points, so I did not get much DEC per battle.

Majstersztyk!
Mam pytanie off-topic. Czy byłbyś zainteresowany współpracą nad dapp dotyczącą ochrony zagrożonych gatunków? Kilka rzeczy działałoby analagicznie jak w monsterach. Kilka inaczej.
Jeśli na steem, znajomość javascript wydaje się być dużym atutem. Nie jest to moja mocna strona, niestety.
Dobrze wykonana, byłaby to bardziej przełomowa aplikacja niż potwory.
Pozdrawiam!

Dziękuję za propozycję, projekt brzmi ciekawie, ale niestety muszę odmówić. Po prostu miałbym za mało czasu, żeby się w to zaangażować :) Życzę powodzenia, żeby się wszystko udało! :)

Nice job showing the current possibilities! Clear Resteem to spread the word :) You don't need to invest thousands or even hundreds to play at the top!

I always wanted to do something like this but just too lazy.
Great effort! So one can really make some money by using only rented cards. How many days, and hours per day, did you spent in total?

I played for the last 3 days on this account and it was maybe about 4 hours each day.
But I always play while doing something else (multitasking), it's not like I'm sitting 4 hours and I only play ;-)
Actually, I could finish this experiment after the first day, when I came to top50. Further play was already less effective and improving the result was getting more difficult. Although I was even 22nd at some point, but I was not able to keep this position.

So one can really make some money by using only rented cards

Yes, I earned about $25 total but it definitely takes time. Suppose I would end the game after 5 hours it would be $5 per hour of play. For some it's a lot, for some it's a little. For me it was just a fun experiment. Maybe I'm going to repeat it end the end of current season but I will try to reduce the total time spent to maybe 2-3 hours (it would be easier because I will start from 3400 points, not from 0 points).

Hi, @jacekw

May I translate this intu Russian and post it by myself?
I am some kind the admin of the community and want to discuss it our Telegram ru channel - but some of guyz busy/not familiar with English/lazy to translate or to correct understand the google translate issues in some cases.
I may not post it though and only translate into the chat.
But if you don't mind...

Hi. Sure, of course, you can translate :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61450.33
ETH 2982.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60