I wonder what the future holds for Steem Monsters.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

I've spent a lot of time playing Steem Monsters lately. I've always been a fan of games like these and this one is particularly appealing due to the fact that the cards are on the blockchain and that they have real value.


Giphy

This season has been particularly difficult.

I got myself some dragons thinking that I'd be able to slice through the competition like butter with them. That did not turn out to be the case.

To tell you the truth I feel that the Mana cost is too high for Dragons given the fact that you can use a lot of lower Mana characters and overtake a dragon easily.

I'm not saying that dragons are never good, but they don't seem to hold the same kind of appeal as something like a Hydra or even Lord of Darkness.

Not only that, but the Lightning Dragon, while very well-rounded, has the significant issue of coming up last on the board in low Mana games and being pushed into the tank category where ranged characters cannot fight.

That's not a good thing. It also brings up the issue of Daria. Is Daria actually a viable Summoner given that she cost four and Selenia costs only three?

I can tell you that it Max Daria with Max dragons is not a guaranteed recipe for success, in fact it is not a guaranteed recipe to get out of Gold League.

It seems like the best cards to max out are actually the lower level cards. Common cards and rare cards. They actually cost a lot to max out. Some cards cost upwards of hundreds of dollars to max out.

Then you have the issue of Alphas. There are some talks that there will eventually Alpha tournaments and that Alpha cards going to be worth a lot. They aren't exactly selling for as much as I would imagine right now though.

This season we had the legendary Summoners come out, but there hasn't been as much fanfare around them as I would have expected.

The main thing I'm noticing this season is that it's taking longer for the numbers to rise up. It seems as though people just barely broke into Champion, and even though there's only a week left quite a few people are stuck in Gold that would otherwise be in Diamond.

Additionally I'm noticing that black is not doing well this season. It seems like white and blue are really kicking butt because they are using higher level cards that have the protect ability.

I have fought several blue and white teams that have shields for all the characters and their Shields are at level 6 or higher.

Also that Naga warrior with her and enrage skill is quite a powerful tank.

I'm really hoping that next season we will see some changes with a few different things especially the daily Quest.

I think changing the Mana amount per game is fun. I don't think changing what team you're allowed to play is fun though. Since I am using a black and a dragon team it just really is annoying when I can only play blue or red.

So at this point it's all about tournaments and it's all about rising up through the ranks and the occasional daily Quest if that's your thing. I really think in order to pull people in we need more than that.

Is something new going to happen soon that will attract more users?

Are we going to add more features that will be fun and not require putting hundreds of dollars into the game just to reach the gold league?

I really hope next season winds up with a lot of new and interesting ideas coming into play.

I wonder what the future holds for Steem Monsters.

Sort:  

We've seen additions every season.
I'm sure new monsters or abilities will be added to work out some of the nerfs.

I'm noticing that black is not doing well this season

Your telling me, my once terrible death deck is no longer so terrible to play against. Something has changed since the season start and its been very different.

It's definitely terrible. Just not in the way you might want.

The discord bot says you have $190 invested in your deck and I only have $49, but we are both stuck in the gold league. Maybe there is something wrong with the game.

Posted using Partiko Android

Something definitely seems wrong this season.

Well actually i am just about to begin next season. I guess it might be a little bit complex for me to understand this. But anyway i also hope next season is good since i will be starting next season

Black and red are weak due to the lack of heals and shields which all other splinters have. Black needs something viable with piercing to become competitive.

Red is slightly stronger, but also needs some love.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'd like to see black get a tank healer. I've been using Lightning Dragon for the piercing ability, but she's really hit or miss especially when you come up against a bunch of high level cheaper cards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87