Steemmonsters....as a season starts

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

It has been a little bit more than a two weeks since I actually have discovered Steem monsters and everything that comes with it. I started learning more about the cards and expanded my stack a little bit. The daily quests were bringing nice expansion to the nice pack and were good to see what all my cards are capable of.



image.png

The leaderboard was set and unreachable for me and that was fine, because my battles were in my own 'leage' with players with the same kinsd of stats. No problem. I did notice that more and more often I would skip the game itself to the results fast using my same team that I was 'thinking' what was the strongest. In some periods of day I would run into the same opponent three times in a row, give the same results in the battles three times in a row as well. Not very inspring.


But all of a sudden a new season started with new rules!



image.png

Pooeeeeeee, and it started out rough and with carnage on my screen, because I was slaughtered from every side! Bringing back the whole leaderboard to 0 meand that having a starter pack all of a sudden you are playing against level 3 cards and then you see the difference in leveled up cards. It was bye bye Karin!


The combination of 'fully loaded' opponents and having a quest in the Earth spirit made me realize how bad my cards in this spirit were. It was super demotivatin BUT a fantastic lesson on learning what kind of abilities other cards have. This time I watched most of the battles super closely to see what are exactly good combos to do.


I really am liking the rules of this season. Sometimes you see a bot player dropping by and also seeing them loose immediately. This season requires actual attention and that I benefitting everybody in the game I guess.! I wresteled myself through the earth spirit quest that seemed to take like forever but the result was rewarding getting this level 4 gold card Rexxie!


Just a question...Gold cards can only be used in gold card battles am I correct?


image.png

Anyway. I'm enjoying this season and it is perfect for this time having a week of work on call shifts were I am sort of grounded to my house but still with a lot of free time. As I can play my daily quests I am still learning and seeing my level rise up a little bit every time. And ow yeah, also get some nice cards every day!



image.png

Great change of rules on this season developers!!

Sort:  

I could have written this :) Same story here. But now it start to level out. The stronger players have moved up. At least that is what my experience is.
I do believe that you can use the gold cards in all the games expect the one where the mission statement says that they are forbidden!
3 rare cards in one pack is just great! I mostly get one and all the rest are commons!
Have fun,
Peter

as miss @gillianpearce is right in...you can use them but need a strong enough summoner, that is ofcourse the deal!

Yeah it is all levelling out a bit and I am winning some again hahaha

I did have a horrible losing streak yesterday! Guess with my collection 500 points is my max!
Hopefully my daily quest will bring me more luck!

Yeah, I also swam in the 500s today and came across some reaaaally strong people there.

Maybe in two days again when all of them will have leveled up?

That would be okay for me. Would like to end in bronze 1. At least that would give me 3 booster packs!
But reading the rule carefully makes things a little bit less hard 😁

Bronze 1 is around the corner man...that should be totally doable actually

And the daily quests....I remain on that... My life quest today was a struggle again but in the end it got me some shiny cards again!

😂
Life is one of my stronger decks!
We still have 10 days or so!

Always take a break at the start of a new season especially this one.

Lets the harder players move up.

I honestly have no idea what gold cards are about!

Posted using Partiko Android

Total high roller carnage the beginning of the season. Slash attacks everywhere, now the water has calmed down again for little fishes like us hahahaha

Indeed. I much prefer being a big fish in a little pond!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ghehehhe, yeah same thing here for preference but facing reality will be the skill of the weekend :D

I get my ass kicked all the time.

I think I will just keep the cards and sell them in a year ...

That is always an option..BUT....might as well give it a play here and there and earn some extra ones with them right?

How can you earn if you don't win?????

Posted using Partiko Android

okay you need to win something here and there.

The daily questions you only need to win 5 games to get an extra deck of cards..that is often doable even with not so good cards

Exactly, just 5 wins a day and learning a little as we go.. every free booster pack could contain a dragon or legendary and then you can make your money right away and sell, or hold until next year as you like and soon.. soon you can even loan them (delegate) them to others haha!

There's even a who monster lending economy waiting right around the corner were "stables" will be loaning out there cards for specified duration for other players to grind with and rank up faster.

Just have fun with it bro, it's not at all complicated once you in the groove.

Ok, thank you for your answers. I don't have five wins in my entire "life", but I will give it a try ...

you can use gold cards in any game as long as they are not expressly forbidden @karinxxl, in place of the regular card, but they will only play at the level appropriate to the summoner you are using.

So if you are missing a rexxie, you can play your gold one instead but, if your summoner is level 1 then your gold rexxie will only play at level 1 despite it being level 4. 😁

I totally get ya now and thanks for the advice:

Mental note (again): needs stronger summoners

needs stronger summoners

Not necessarily @karinxxl. 😂

There's no point in having stronger summoners if you don't have the cards to play with them. It needs to be a balance. Don't combine cards above the level that your summoner can play and don't level up summoners above the level of cards you have.

It's all moot at the moment as Steem Monsters is down and no games can be played anyway. 😱

Sm was down yeah?? Was that with an update or so? I noticed that the background has changed a bit.

its all about balance

crap....again ;)

Hi @karinxxl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.281 which ranks you at #2614 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 2622).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 290 contributions, your post is ranked at #98.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by karinxxl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

yeah great ugrade but at first it was frustrating.. I was playing for hours and hours.. and ... hours.. hahaha good post Karin.

Now its getting a bit easier I find...dont you think?

Yeah it's getting much better 😁

whats up girly girl... I wonder where did you learn from @steemmonsters ? probably in the same city / event I did right? lol

Just passing by here to tell you, better practice you do not want to have an encounter with me haha.

Well...I already had a stack going on, but wasnt doing anything with it actually...But yeah, a certain event in a certain city gave some inspiration to do stuff with it again, because some inspiring and fun people were talking about possibilities

Are you claiming that you are going to kick my ass amigo??

haha let's see what happens when have a match

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01