The first Steemmonsters season coming to an end... //My experience so far

Screenshot (161).png


Ever since i invested some of my "hard earned" cash into steem monsters ive been pretty interested in everything that happens in regards to the game.
Now, you could say thats to be expected because i did invest some money into the cards, but i have already sold almost every card i was intending to sell and the game still holds my interest strongly. :D

It took me a while before deciding to spend 200$ on "some" online game.
I do have some liquid STEEM but im far from a rich account. What changed my mind was the @fundition crowdsourcing campaign SM started there. I keep some of my STEEM liquid because im always looking for investment opportunities and as much as SM might be s a gamble i just couldnt let it pass by. It was just a damn good deal.



I was hoping to get at least 50% of my investment back from selling the cards i got from the pack, keep what i need for future play, and then just sell the promo cards since they will be too expensive for my wallet to level up.

The pack openings went better then i expected and i have a solid base now to move forward, and essentially will make more STEEM from investing in an online game then i made my whole time here on STEEMIT..

Crazy stuff.. haha.

Thats what i mean when i say we need to expand our economy here and create as many investment opportunities as we can. This for sure was a gamble, but dammit, did it pay off. :D
No risk, no reward, eh? :D



For the first season i was late a few days since i was waiting on the packs to come so i can build my deck. Regardless of my own impatience, with all the things Aggroed and Yabapmatt had to do with battles being launched, its quite amazing that they sent the packs just a few days later.

First starting playing, it went ok, i slowly moved up the ladder and its really not until you get beat by a lower "card experience" deck do you find that you need adjustments.
There have been a few cookie cutter builds popping up and especially the Death splinter had a large advantage over everyone else (up to 2000 Rating which is the furthest i reached.). The double debuff was just devastating.

Didnt take me long to realize that, if levels equal, differences in deck potential between decks change in regard to how leveled up your cards are. Maybe its intentional, maybe its a balance issue but regardless, it added a little more nuance to the game.

So what i did was get rid of most of my valuable death splinter cards (because i found that splinter annoying :D) and went for the second best deal i could find.. And it worked pretty well. VS same level decks i didnt lose many fights.

And now it turns out my deck is getting nerfed after the season ends!!! I WANT TO TELL SOMETHING TO THE DEVS! IF YOU EVER GO FORWARD WITH THIS CHANGE, IM GONNA....!!



Nah, theyre right, :D some of the cards were a bit OP at lower levels of the ladder. haha.
Good catch though.

They came out with an update a few days back as well. Most of the concerns i had were solved, except one that i feel needs a more drastic solution. But we will see over time what happens.

So far i have to say it was an incredibly positive experience. Will the game succeed even further, or fail after time, i cant say. I was a bit bearish before they came out with the update announcement but that changed of course.

What i am sure of, is that this game already brought me more value, in a monetary sense and in many others, then anything else on the STEEM blockchain so far.

And what ever happens that will not change.

Sort:  

same here.. made more money trading steemmonsters (especially selenia sky) than all my efforts on steemit..
and making money by playing kind of multiplies the fun playing the game...

on the one hand I am happy to have found something that pays of for me.. on the other hand that is a pretty sad thing if you think that through...
But from day to day I see more and more potential with steemmonsters.. I believe this could go much further and finally making a huge impact onto the whole steem / steemit eco system...

so currently I am mainly buying the silvershield knight... speculating on a big upgrade for the card tomorrow...

I think you are betting well. That cards splinter will be getting a bit of love and when that happens we might be looking at a "flavor of the month" splinter which means prices go up...

Posted using Partiko Android

that's what I am looking for... ;-)
In general the whole steemmonsters eco system could get huge traction as soon as we enter a phase where pupils play their mates (and make some bucks) on mobile phones during school brakes, etc...

The potential is always there. And if the bull market ever comes, more people will turn to Steemmonsters to augment their earnings for sure.

Hhehehe. I really don't get how you guys get excited or interested in SM.I guess my lack of interest would explain why I find SM boring. But as long as you are having fun on the block-chain I say keep at it :)

let me try to explain:
1.) Common view: Playing peer to peer and competing with fellow steemians is just pure fun!
2.) Personal view: As an economist this whole thing is like a sandbox 101 economic trial. From that point of view it is like speculating, investing and sportsbetting all in one thing. It is just fascinating how things develope and play out.
3.) Scientific view: Every computer game has to work with rewards. A better gun, a better weapon, new tank, new ability etc. that is unlocked by achieving the next level. This is highly stimulating in the brain reward center.

Well i made money. :D
What ever makes me money i always find interesting haha.
People are different. Some things might not interest you, some things might.
The great thing is that we have a variety of things popping up for every group to be satisfied. :D

Hi @lordbutterfly!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.112 which ranks you at #9231 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 112 places in the last three days (old rank 9343).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 275 contributions, your post is ranked at #188.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95