Steem Monsters New Battle Format

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

The past week or so I've been playing Steem Monsters just enough to complete my quests, and get my free booster pack. In that time, they have changed the way the battles work. If you are not aware, you used to choose the team you wanted to use to battle, then it would find an opponent for you, you would start the battle, and see who won. Now, you get your opponent first, it gives you a bit of info about them, and you create your team. This in itself doesn't make the game all that different.

The big change is that now you get different battle parameters each time you battle. This is a vast improvement, as you have to think about a new team configuration every battle. This takes away some of the autopilot mentality. You actually have to think and be engaged in your battles. This has made the game quite a bit more fun, so overall, I'd say it's a change for the better.

But I think there is still a long way to go. The biggest problem I have is that it's all still automated once the battle starts. There's no way to tell your monsters what the best target for their attack would be, or if it even makes sense for them to attack at all. I find it frustrating to watch the battles, because of all the tactical errors made. So I usually just skip to the results. The other thing I don't care for is that most of the battles are predictable. Once you see the cards you're up against, you know if you're going to win or lose. Nothing changes during the course of the battle, and there's no strategy once the battle starts, so no reason not to skip to the results.

So for now, this new system is definitely an improvement, but for me Steem Monsters is still kind of just a grind to get packs. I'm hopeful it will one day become a game.

Here are some of the best packs I've gotten from the daily quests.

Screenshot_20181117-104138.png

Screenshot_20181125-160223.png

Screen Shot 2018-11-24 at 3.51.27 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-11-27 at 4.35.29 PM.png

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from the CryptoSicko Delegation Bot. Thank you for supporting and helping to build me

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11