Is the Hex: Shards of Fate story a warning for Steem Monsters?

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

This morning I woke to a story on Kotaku about how Crytpozoic Entertainment is being sued by Wizards of the Coast LLC for an alleged cloning of Magic: The Gathering® Card Trading Game.

WTF?

Apparently, the claim is it's a willful infringement of intellectual property rights and got me thinking about @SteemMonsters and if their trading card game would hold up in a court of law?

I'm sure @aggroed and @yabapmatt are making Steem Monsters with the best intentions but it's always wise to ensure patents aren't breached and the legal due diligence has been signed off.

To be honest I'm not even sure if it's about the card design or card mechanics as you can see the cards in Hex don't read exactly like MTG.

HEX.PNG

So it should be interesting to follow these court proceedings to see which way it goes.

I know for sure MTG has always been protective of their trademark, intellectual property, and game system in the past. And because Steem Monsters actually makes money from the sale of these cards and potential future game, it's the sort of target MTG looks for.

Let's hope the lawsuit fails and gives Steem Monsters a legal precedent if it's ever challenged.

It's such a great idea and it'll be on the blockchain forever, so there is always that.

Now the only question I have is should I buy cards or not?

EDIT: It appears the article I read was from 2014, and I'm blaming Kotaku for misleading me :-P
Anyway, it turns out the dispute was settled out of court. - https://www.gamesindustry.biz/articles/2015-09-28-wizards-of-the-coast-settles-hex-lawsuit

But it doesn't make this post any less relevant to the team at @SteemMonsters.

Sort:  

This was back in 2014, nothing has been done.

Oh crap, I swear that was on the frontpage. Lols
Next time I better check the dates, but are now curious on how it went.
I'll dig a little deeper.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Congratulations @moneyhacks! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54