Steem Monster Cards are Nutritious (Yum!)

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

thumb_food-w-sm-cards.jpg

Everyday at around noon, my co-workers and I sort out the daily ritual of deciding on what we want to eat. This usually leads down one of two paths: Either (A) one of us uses the DoorDash app to make a food order from some local joint, or (B) I end up driving somewhere to pick up food from someplace that isn't available through DoorDash.

I'm usually the one to volunteer since it's usually my only opportunity to grab some sunlight and fresh air. It's good to get out of the office now and then.

Regardless of which option we go with, it's always the same routine. Everyone whips out their phones and uses Venmo or Apple Pay to send funds to whoever is paying.

Yesterday was different.

@pladozero is a blockchain mobile app developer who has invested heavily in Steem Monsters. I had selected Rubio's Coastal Grill as the preferred grub choice of the day (Their shrimp tacos are uh-MAZing), and he decided on a grilled chicken burrito.

It's important that you, the reader, understand that it was a grilled chicken burrito. Why? Because I went through the trouble of creating an accurate thumbnail photo for this post, complete with a chicken burrito from the Rubio's menu. This is news journalism at its best.

Anyhoo...

He suggested that I don't need money. Yeah, right, buddy. I most definitely do! I'm not paying for your tortilla-wrapped sustenance! "How about I gift you a Steem Monsters card instead?" he says.

Wait, what? Huh. Hmmm...

Okay!

I'm trying to prepare my Death Squad for the possibility of gold-only tournaments, so after I quick minute of haggling, we settled on a Twisted Jester gold card as suitable compensation for his meal. The card arrived in my collection as quickly as any Venmo or Apple Pay payment.

Bam. Steem Monsters officially used as a cryptocurrency for trading physical goods/services.

goblin-burrito.jpg

The other developers thought we were nuts, but I'm sure they were secretly wishing they had Steem Monster cards to buy lunch with. Who wouldn't? Imagine rollin' on up to a MickyD's drive-thru and hearing the window cashier say "That'll be 2 Pit Ogres and 1 Feral Spirit, please".

The Divine Healer lady says it's gonna happen, and I believe her.

(Secret Squirrel Time! That Twisted Jester skyrocketed in price. Don't tell my co-worker!)

Welp, I hope this 3 min reading period has dramatically improved how you live your lives. Lesson of the Day: As long as you work with someone else who has Steem Monster cards, you will never go hungry (even if you have no money)!

sig-steem_@nateaguila.png

Sort:  

Nice read of your post mate haha endless possibilities

I upvoted you because I like the word “mate”. I don’t hear it enough in the US.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha I like it and yeah it's the common jargon that slips out of my mouth on a daily!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yup. Food became increasingly more needed throughout the day and I was able to barter with you to get some food. Sure I took a loss looking back in terms of pure value, but at the same time I feel like it was an even trade even at the end. You got a card you wanted and I was able to satisfy my hunger. Win-win situation for the both of us. Made the most of the situation trading a cards for food.

Que informacion mas destacadas para alguien como yo que se esta inciando tambien en esto de laa criptomodas. Te sigo

Congratulations @nateaguila! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@nateaguila purchased a 33.14% vote from @promobot on this post.

*If you disagree with the reward or content of this post you can purchase a reversal of this vote by using our curation interface http://promovotes.com

Haha, I love it! What a great new use for #SteemMonsters cards. I wonder how many BigMac's my Gold Foil Common cards will get me one day? 😋


🙚   SteemMonsters:Site   • Discord   |  Steempunk.net:Site   • Discord   |   Chibera:   • Site   • Discord   🙘

In the future, everything will be spliced 16 decimal places to the right. For example, you should be able to pay for a house with the lower right corner of a gold Rexxie card.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha, great comeback! 😆

I love the Rexxie!!!
Rexxie (701px, 10fps).gif

Don’t get too attached. He must be dissected to pay for happy meals.

Posted using Partiko iOS

this is really neat, didn't even think of the idea of using the cards to barter with

Yup! No more hassles with herding your goats and sheep! Why trade livestock when you can send digital cards!

This is so great! I like Rubio's too.

Yay for tacos!

And Steemmonsters! Excited to start playing soon.

Hi @nateaguila!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.581 which ranks you at #1675 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 9 places in the last three days (old rank 1684).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 487 contributions, your post is ranked at #213.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73