Steem Monsters Sunday!: Preparing for Battle Today!

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-08-23 at 6.15.04 PM.png

Source

Today is an exciting day for the STEEM ecosystem and its community! One of the largest projects to be developed on the blockchain is launching today as @steemmonsters is ready to release the battle system for its users. By the time you read this, it is most likely that battling will be enabled as it is expected to launch sometime in the afternoon Eastern Standard Time.

I did some research leading up to today and made the decision to level up some cards in order to create some teams in preparation for battles when it launches. Cards acquired from booster packs are available to play with immediately after acquiring. However, as the cards level up, they acquire additional abilities and features. For example, some cards will learn new abilities that can be used in battle like fear, thorns, among many others. They can also increase their combats stats as they level up. Combat stats include attach, speed, health, and armor. Summoners also have special reasons to level up as increasing their levels would increase the amount and type of monsters they can summon into battle.

There are two ways to level up cards in @steemmonsters. First, and the way I did was to combine cards. You can use duplicates of each card you acquire to level them up. I had waited since purchasing my cards as I was not sure how it worked or whether it was the best approach. However, I learned during the beta battles that some cards are very helpful given some of the abilities they learn by increasing their level. The option I had with the duplicates was to sell them on the market but I found that most of these common cards were undervalued given the potential they provided to level up cards. Once Alpha packs were sold out, the @steemmonsters team announced that Alpha cards would have the benefit of needing less cards combined to level up relative to their Beta counterparts. This raised the interest of even common cards but the value was truly to level these up. The other way to level these up is to battle which will being today! So I thought to get a slight advantage (which I need given by awful beta battling record), I leveled up all of my Summoners and three teams I have experimented with in the Beta.

Death Splinter Monsters.png

I really enjoyed playing with different iterations of this Splinter as some of the abilities like sneak, thorn, and poison worked in interesting ways during the Beta. I think having them at these levels which are not the max levels as even having over 100 cards of some of these were not enough to max the cards out. That is because I think the @steemmonsters team did a great job to balance the game in ensuring that those that purchased so many could not start with too much of an advantage. I think it also provides an opportunity for the market for these cards to flourish as some cards are rarer than others (I still need an Angel of Light!).

I have done the same for the Life and Earth Splinters which offer some interesting combinations. Unfortunately, the fact that I still don’t have an Angel of Light might steer me away from using the Life Splinter much but I feel that my luck will soon turn an my collection will be completed. I am looking forward to the start of these battles and I hope that we can enjoy it as a community as I truly believe this could be a pivotal point for the STEEM ecosystem to demonstrate the value of developing sound projects on the blockchain. Offering a new and innovative way to engage on the blockchain is a great way to foster community and retain users.

Look forward to seeing some of you on the battefield!

Screenshots are from the Steem Monsters website

STEEM 2018-04-21 at 11.21.16 AM.png

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link:
https://www.minnowbooster.com/referral/530636

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link:
https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=newageinv

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

Good Luck in the Battles! Look forward to your thoughts!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01