You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemmonsters - How About Some Fair Play?

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

While I too want to give new players some new player restricted tournaments I don't completely agree with the reasoning that Novice games are for Novice players / Bronze for Bronze ect. I'm a gambler who plays allot of poker and I view the Novice tournaments similar to how I view micro buy ins for poker tournaments. They are simply just a different buy in level of play.

The ones who have the most advantage in Bronze / Silver / Novice or any other level play are the ones that play in that level the most. Meaning if you have a bronze level deck and are consistently playing in Bronze level games then you have the edge over anyone who is not.

Another reason as to why some of us with higher level decks are joining smaller level games is the lack of game selection. If I log in and feel like playing a SM tournament and the only one about to run is a Novice game in 20 minutes with no other official SM games to be seen for hours then I am going to join and play that tournament. If on the other hand there was a Silver tournament starting somewhere around the same time then I would opt in to playing that one instead.

A new feature has been added that allows tournament host to disallow legendary monsters, which is great. The more variety in tournament creation the less likely these games become dull and hopefully this new feature will create more winners.

I routinely get stomped in Novice games when I play them (regardless of using the new summoners or not). Moving down in limits can be just as hard as moving up.

Sort:  

Lol, I had expected nothing else from you, @rentmoney. Somehow we always seem to disagree on the details. 😄
I already liked you before SM even existed, but our never-ending disagreements about SM made me like you even more. It's so easy with you to agree that we disagree, lol.

But let's break that cycle. For once, I almost completely agree with what you're saying.
I'm the first one to acknowledge that playing at levels under the ones you are used to isn't easy at all. For example, I'm really not good in Bronze. At one point, I created a separate bronze level account, just to keep the feeling of that level.

I can't tell you how many times in novice or bronze tournaments I waited for the Elemental Phoenix and the Fire Demon to blast, lol. Only to realize they don't get that feature at lvl 2 for EP and lvl 3 for FD.
Same for the Earth tree. I keep using him as if he has the self-heal, while he doesn't. 😂

I don't mind Diamond players signing up for Bronze or Silver, but novice is supposed to give people some tournament experience. When a novice tourney is paying out only the top 6 out of 60 players, and the top 15 places are taken by players who have been playing for months and know as good as all the tricks in the book, I can only assume it is pretty discouraging for people who are fairly new to the game.

Once you have a deck that can play bronze tournament, you do have some experience, and I think it can only be a good learning experience to play against players that know the game better than you do.
Equal chances there, because, like you say, if you're used to play in higher leagues, it is not easy to play at a lower level.

However, my main concern were the summoners. I love them, because it gives you more options to choose from, but they are so expensive a lot of people can't afford them. And I thought they were out of place in a novice tourney.
Apparently, I published this post a day too soon, since apparently they had been working on that. Glad to see it's an option whether to allow them or not.

Another reason as to why some of us with higher level decks are joining smaller level games is the lack of game selection. If I log in and feel like playing a SM tournament and the only one about to run is a Novice game in 20 minutes with no other official SM games to be seen for hours then I am going to join and play that tournament.

I can only agree with that. I saw a proposal somewhere a couple of days ago - I think it was yours - to have sit and go's 24/7 - as soon as the required number of players signed up, the tourney would start. once it would finish, it would appear in the list again. I'm all for that.

I hate it to schedule everything around a tournament that starts at say 5pm, and then find out a friend decides to pay me an unattended visit at that time, lol. I have been joining as many as I can - which were a lot in the past two days - my wrist hurts from moving and clicking that mouse 😂 - and I also joined the novice ones, because there were no other ones to join.

I already liked you before SM even existed, but our never-ending disagreements about SM made me like you even more. It's so easy with you to agree that we disagree, lol.

Likewise, you are a great asset to anything you're apart of. Keep up all the great work that you do.

I saw a proposal somewhere a couple of days ago - I think it was yours - to have sit and go's 24/7 - as soon as the required number of players signed up, the tourney would start. once it would finish, it would appear in the list again. I'm all for that.

Yeah that was me. I brought it up a number of times and others might have also. I envision a lobby that no matter the time of day someone logs in there is a game about to start. I think that is an important part to getting mass adaption. If the casual player logs in enough times and don't find a game to play they will find another way to occupy their time and SM then becomes an after thought to them.

I hear you on that tree healer. I lost my fair share of lower level games forgetting it doesn't have heal. I am also all for a league that is JUST for newbies. Either introduce another one ( call it the Beginner League) or restructure the Novice League to fit it. I still feel the best way to do this is introduce a time limit to certain tournaments. For example have Newbie Tournaments that only accounts 90 days or younger can play. After 90 days you are no longer a newbie and are fair game. Prizes should be small (as to not encourage abuse) but at least it lets newbies face newbies.

You mentioned that 90 days-idea a couple of times, and the more I think about it, the more I like the idea. Before, I assumed Novice tournaments would be used for people to get experience, but they're not. An 'age'-restricted series of tournaments could do the trick.

I just saw the new option put into practice, and it's a perfect example of 'be careful what you wish for'. All I wanted was a restriction on the legendary summoners in the novice league - instead I get tournaments without any kind of legendaries... 😢

Now I don't know if I like this new update or not 😂

The ones who have the most advantage in Bronze / Silver / Novice or any other level play are the ones that play in that level the most. Meaning if you have a bronze level deck and are consistently playing in Bronze level games then you have the edge over anyone who is not.

That may be partially true, but the winners are always the usual suspects. Maybe a solution would be to run tournaments at the same times, but with different rules / limitations. The Silver and Gold ones could have slightly higher prizes to attack the better players, but the novice and bronze ones could still have some prizes and maybe less competition from the masters.

Skill still plays a factor and the ones winning at the top are very skillful in this game so they have a chance in any league. The advantage still goes towards to the player who plays the most in each individual league as they are more familiar with its game play.

run tournaments at the same times

I have brought that up multiple times and it has multiple benefits. Currently the game lobby is seriously lacking in the games department. So much more can be done. Sometimes there are no official games for an 8 hour period which is not good for mass adaption.

Tell me about it. Today was a tournament-less day for me. I only just missed the one from Taug.
I didn't like it one little bit, because today I had one of those days on which everything seems to work out like planned. It would have been a great day for tourney :0/

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91