Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 9

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 9


Imgur



This is my entry for the Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 9



The Air Between Us by @simgirl

Folks often ask me how old I am, but to tell the truth, I’ve lost count of the years. I’ve been called by many names and held many titles throughout the centuries, but now I am simply known as the Divine Healer. I was one of the last children presented by the Goddess of Light, Khymia before the meteor swarms known as, “The Cleansing”, and I was part of, “the legacy” generation.

My parents worked for the village of Krones, which I am told was a small mining village. Once the meteor swarms began, my family, like most of the others in the village, fled to the cliffs of the Quartz Obsidian mountains to hide. We stayed there for most of my childhood. I was raised in the ruins of the land and taught to grow herbs.

Not long after the meteor swarms, the land of Khymias faced a time of starvation. The few crops our people managed to cultivate were burned by the Ferexia during a revolting invasion. The Ferexia believed the Khymian people were responsible for the meteor swarms and left the land in ashes. The Goddess of Light Khymia granted her people provision trees, but still my parents did not survive.

As a young boy I was entrusted to the care of the priests in the Order of the Silver Shield Priesthood and there I was named “the ward”. The priests were planning to build a new city in the middle of the land and needed more workers. It would be a shining city of light they would name Shimmerwatch. Soon the very first Earth Temple was erected in the center of the city as a replica of the floating temple where the living Goddess of Light Khymia resides.

I worked in the Earth Temple day and night. I listened to the prayers of the Khymians, counseled them, and healed the sick. I was becoming more experienced in my priest skills, and soon I was entitled, “the Counselor” by the Order. After the construction of the University of Illumination, I learned the priest skill of levitation and was the very first priest to forego the five-mile stone staircase known as “The Stairway of Solace” and levitate to the university.



It was during my first few years studying at the Noble University that I learned more about the Kavyata. The Kavyata, also known as the “Books of Wisdom”, revealed many secrets the Khymians had forgotten. One of these secrets was the power to astral project to the floating temple of Khymia. Priests were able to petition the requests of the Khymians to the Goddess of Light, Khymia and hear her voice. For years before the world became splintered, the Khymian priests used this power of astral projection to visit the Goddess of Light, Khymia in the floating temple.

Astral projection was a new concept, and many of the priests studying in the university were trying as I was to gain a grasp on the idea. We could picture the path our minds would need to take to get to the floating temple, but none of us knew for sure what the inside of the temple looked like, let alone the Goddess herself. This made it very hard to imagine clear enough to project the vision.

I was becoming frustrated by the entire lesson the day I was approached by the Order of the Silver Shield’s city planner, Palo outside the university’s main hall.

“Counselor, we need your help. The progression of the new city’s development depends on you.” Palo said as serious as a knight could be.

“I am always happy to help the Silver Shield Palo. How is it I can be of service?” I said.

“There seems to be an upset in Crystal Peak. The air elementals are unwilling to leave the area and are making a mess of things by causing high winds. They are knocking down scaffolds, and the workers. I had to send one of our guys to a healer this morning. Their leader, Agustdust demands he speak with a highly appointed priest to hear his demands.”

“His demands?” I asked.

“That is correct Counselor. I was told to speak with you by the Priesthood. It is the decision of the elders that the wisest priest at the university be assigned this special task.”

“Very well. I will make my way to Crystal Peak and listen to Agustdust.”

“Thank you, Counselor.” Palo said, and then saluted me with respect before stomping away and out of sight.



The stone road leading from the guarded city of Cloudguard to the high altitude of Crystal Peak was still under construction. I levitated above the rocky terrain and gathered my thoughts as to what Agustdust could want from the Priesthood. I knew very little about air elementals and had only manifested a few elementals in my university life.

Agustdust was the most powerful of the air elementals, and I was told would not be tamed by any of the Priesthood’s summoners. His disobedience to the Silver Shield could disrupt any plans for the new city and the Library of Enlightenment. The Peace of Light Monastery was built to house the highest priests in Crystal Peak, and I was very much looking forward to living there myself. I had to do all I could to talk Agustdust into a peaceful agreement.

I found Agustdust at the highest mountain peak. His body swirled in a mad gust of wind as he overlooked the vast expanse, slowing only when he caught my figure from the corner of his eye.

“Who do we have here?” Agustdust asked, finally turning to face me.

“I’m am the Counselor. I represent the Order of the Silver Shield Priesthood and I am here to make a peaceful agreement. You see that the construction of Crystal Peak is almost complete. Why is it that you are commanding the other air elementals to revolt?”

“You never asked the air elementals’ permission to construct your city on our mountain.” Agustdust spat.

I stood straight and looked that air elemental right in his shifting eyes.

With confidence in my conviction I replied, “This is the land of the Goddess of Light, Khymia, and as Khymians we are given authority over every creature of this land. This includes all of the elementals.”

Agustdust laughed an eerie chuckle and spat again, “Your Goddess doesn’t speak to you anymore. She has fell silent. Until I see you wield her power, I will not be summoned to do your bidding, and none of the other air elementals will either. You cannot have our mountain.”

“How can I prove to you that the Khymians wield the power of the Goddess of Light, Khymia?” I asked, now questioning my own abilities to prove anything.

“Pray to the Goddess of Light, Khymia. Petition to her on our behalf. I request the air elemental have more power than the wind. I want the power of light… in the form of lightning. When the air elementals can use this power, then I shall retreat, and you will have the peace you so desire.”

“I agree.” I said. “But you must grant me one request. I must use the sanctuary in the Monastery to reach the height of contemplation needed to travel to the Floating Temple of Khymia. You can not disturb my meditation.”

Agustdust nodded and then turned his back.



I returned to the Library of Enlightenment and asked the Priesthood scribes for help. I wanted to be sure I didn’t miss one prayer or forget one offering. This prayer request would need to be flawless, so I started from the beginning. The scribes directed me to every prayer, ceremony, and petition request, and then gave me the key I needed- the description of the inside of the temple.

“Why is it that we don’t have these scrolls at the university?” I asked one of the scribes.

“I’m sorry, Counselor. We only recently found these scrolls. It’s been hard to organize with the air elementals blowing the papers around.”

“I understand. Thank you for your help. Please tell the others to evacuate Crystal Peak, until I finish this.”

Once the city became quiet I started the prayers. I lit candles and incense in the exact order I was instructed in the ancient scrolls. I gave offerings of the freshest herbs in the land of Khymias, the most exotic oils, and the finest stones. When I completed the ceremony, I sat before the alter and quieted my mind for what I hoped would be a successful astral projection to the Goddess of Light, Khymia.

Once I emptied my mind of all thoughts and all color, it was transcended into a viewing screen. I imagined my body lifting off the floor and floating above me. I could feel my spirit being carried away. I floated higher and higher until I was outside of the sanctuary. High above, I could see the construction of the outside buildings and the trees being planted by the brook.

I gazed up and could see the floating Temple of Khymia. I gracefully lifted myself high above the clouds until I could see the entrance to the temple. The glass doors opened with just the thought and inside I could see everything that was described to me in the scrolls. A long, wide, white carpet lined the floor and on each side of it stood crystal statues of angels standing guard.

The air was perfumed with the scent of the fresh, white roses that bloomed along the outer edges of the room. As I walked the carpet, I could hear doves cooing and flapping their wings as they flew over my head. I was at total peace as I floated toward what appeared to be the Silver Alter of Forgiveness.

A glowing figure stood behind the alter. I knew instantly that it was the Goddess of Light Khymia. Her skin was so pale it glowed, and her silver hair blew around her as if a constant breeze were blowing. She smiled the most gracious smile I’d ever seen, and I felt tears well up in my eyes.

“Don’t be afraid.” She said. “I am glad you are here Counselor.”

I couldn’t speak. I could only think that I would wake at any moment and still be in my bed. I couldn’t shake the thought that this was just a dream.

The Goddess of Light, Khymia laughed. “You’re not dreaming. You are the very first priest in many moons to use their power correctly. From now on, you will be assigned to teaching the others to get here too.”

I fell to my knees, still weeping. “My Goddess Khymia. I am here on behalf of the Khymians. We have built our city Crystal Peak upon this mountain to be closer to you. The air elementals are causing trouble and have requested the power of lightning to prove you are here among us. I have no choice but to petition on their behalf. Please grant them these powers so that we may worship you in peace.”

When I looked up expecting to see her disapproval or surprise, I found only the face of an understanding Goddess. “I will be happy to grant the air elemental this special power. It is my greatest wish that the Khymians have all my gifts. Behold, the Khymians shall be free from worry and Crystal Peak shall be peaceful for days to come.”

“Thank you, Goddess.” I said.

“You are welcome Counselor, and for your faith I shall reward you as well. You will be blessed with an additional skill of healing, and from now on you will be granted the title, the Divine Healer. Go back now, and tell the others that I am here, and show them the way.”



When I opened my eyes, I was light-headed from the journey, but I knew that the vision was real. I had successfully astral projected to the floating Temple of Khymia and I had heard her voice. When I traveled again to the top of the mountain I saw lightning coming from a new hillside I’d never seen before. There was no path to this new land, so I levitated over and found Agustdust at the highest peak.

This time Agustdust showed a gleaming smile on his windy face. “How’s that new lightning working out for you?” I asked.

“I’ll tell you Counselor, I really didn’t think you could do it.”

“I’m the Divine Healer now.” I corrected him curtly.

“Excuse me, Divine Healer. Congratulations on your promotion. I guess you can really give me all of the credit, seeing as I was the one who insisted that you challenge your priest skills.”

“You are not getting a thank you Agustdust. Just tell me that you won’t return to Crystal Peak to cause trouble anymore.” I said.

“You have my word. I am content with this new power, and the land the Goddess of Light, Khymia has granted for our new home. We will do the Khymians' bidding when summoned and we will do it with honor.”

Agustdust kept his word, and the construction of Crystal Peak was completed later that year. I have spent the last two hundred years as the Divine Healer of Khymias, one of the longest offices held to date. I often wonder if the special healing skill the Goddess gave me was immortality. The other Khymians seem to believe this is true.

Over the ages numerous priests have rose with new skills and abilities, but after many years, unfortunately Goddess of Light, Khymia relieves them of service. While they are here they strive to hold my elevated position as the highest priest in the Order of the Silver Shield Priesthood and so they believe the power of immortality is their life goal.

I can’t say why I have been blessed so abundantly by the Goddess, or why I have been able to achieve success in this life, but I can say the land of Khymias is my home, and one I will continue to serve, teach, and protect. For I am the last one living from the legacy generation, and the only Divine Healer.

The End

Thanks for reading!



More post by @simgirl
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! Week 3/ Karockas the Bold- by @simgirl
Feral Spirit- Steem Monsters Story Contest Week Four
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 5
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 6
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 7
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 8

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Imgur

Sort:  

I had to come and read yours. Very nice.

This line was the best, in my opinion:

“Excuse me, Divine Healer. Congratulations on your promotion. I guess you can really give me all of the credit, seeing as I was the one who insisted that you challenge your priest skills.” hahaha

Your story had me from the very beginning. The thought about not being able to get to a certain place because one cannot see it clearly is a very interesting concept. Something to think about.

Thank you!!!! I'm so glad you won that one and your story will be on the official website!!! Such an honor!!

Ha ha. That air elemental was a trip. Can't wait to read your story this week!!!

Simgirl!!!! You got curie'd!!!!

So I was over on another steem monster writer that got curied, and I saw you making the very best and most detailed comment, and I thought, 'Awww, Simgirl is awesome!'

And jerks like Agustdust totally want to take the credit! XD

Steem on!

Thanks! Yes that story was written by one of our freewrite friends. I try to read everyone's story, but don't always get the time.

They do get a little long sometimes, but they are so much fun!

I really love the work you have done becoming part of the fiction writing community, its always a pleasure seeing you ;)

Almost 60! Keep it up! BTW did you wait for 60 to get your byteballs or have you already done that?

Thanks! I am trying to get to 60! It seems like a long haul. I did not get any byteballs yet. I really don't know what they are, and heard different stories about them, good and bad. I will wait for 60 now you told me though :)

I would like to see you try to write one for the @steemmonsters contest. The format is very easy. I follow the outline they give in the contest post. I'm not feeling it for the skeleton warrior this week, although a muse may come before the deadline on Wednesday.

Here's a link to this week's contest! Have you bought your Steem Monsters starter pack????

https://steemit.com/contest/@steemmonsters/steem-monsters-common-card-fantasy-story-contest-week-10

Steem Monsters Website

I haven't bought a starter pack yet but I should! I have avoided using steem to buy anything while its so low, but I did win some gold cards recently...

I sent you some information on discord. The Bytes did seem a bit scammy or spammy for a while, but basically because the offer was so good, plus a referral bonus, that it just got out of hand. I think some people made thousands of dollars. I got my 80 bucks and got snook her 40, but we should have waited until she got to 60 rep....now that it is settled down a bit more, I am talking to different users one on one if they are interested, instead of spamming the whole network.

Oooooh! Skeleton Assassin! That could be a great story! I'll try to think of something this week!

Awesome! I feel you on the prices, but we were lower than this when we started on Steemit last year and had a pretty nice Christmas so I'm trying to hodl.

But as far as Steem monster cards go, right now you can make some money if you know how to play the auction. With SBD being so low, you can buy the cards cheep, especially the common cards. I bought a whole bunch for cents just to finish my common card collection.

The gold foil cards are relatively cheap too- starting at a dollar fifty.

Where do I check to see how close I am to rep of 60?

Oh and tag me in the story if you get it written and posted so I don't miss it.!!!

Hagd

I always check on steemnow because they go to three decimal places-

That's right! Thanks for reminding me, we did have a pretty great year last year! Cheers and here's to the Christmas!!!

(Ok, will do on that story!)

Thank you!

Hi simgirl,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @simgirl! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I love the way this contest organised by @steemmonsters have been turned into a real writing challenge because greater than winning a prize is to also evolve and improve your skills on steemit.
I find your writing very interesting and your creativity is a blessing. It's amazing how you started the story from a disaster which slowly became something beautiful, writing down the entire process of evolution.
I really hope you will win the prize as you totally deserve it. :)

Awwa Thank you for the compliment! I do love how the Steemit writing contests make me think of stories I never would otherwise. It really does help me level my writing skills! I can't wait to play @steemmonsters.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Simgirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Fantastic write ... I was sucked into the story from the first sentence.

Thanks so much for reading!

This story moves through your old times of upbringing, with your humble background parents, and now you are a divine healer.

I think it could also make a nice movie, because it appears more natural unlike most games and movies that are so much into guns and cars.

Nature is good for uniqueness.

Thanks for reading! It would be cool to see it unfold as a movie!

Yay! You got curied! LOVE this story! You need to send these to me every week so I can read them. You know what I love the best, is that this story has sooo many of the elements you and I thought of when we were first coming up with the template for the White Splinter. It's very refreshing and fun to see them all culminated so nicely in such a well-built story. I love the healer character, and his humble personality. This was a fun read.

Awwa thank you! I had to send it to you. The story kinda wrote itself!!!

Yes, I'd say it did. Still, you pulled it together beautifully! Those were really good times, coming up with some of that stuff! And I like how you filled in a lot of the gaps here. It was a fun read. :D

We do write good stories together! I had the template open as I wrote to get the details right :D

Honestly, those are some of the best memories I have. That couple of weeks was truly magical. I loved it. Had I not been in the middle of a move, and so many other things going on, I might have been able to stick around with the editing phase. But I was just too burnt out. You guys did an awesome job tying it together.

Great story, curie is also very happy it seems. Wonderful storytelling, The background of the healer was very interesting to me. As, of course, so is the immortality aspect.

Thank you! I had no idea what to write about. These stories really make you think!

The Divine Healer was a hard one to write, you did good, got a second out of it. I felt very rushed and only so so on mine, but I did get something, and it did make me think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86