Special Steemmonsters Challenge. Are You Up For It?

in #steemmonsters5 years ago (edited)

Always wanted to join a Steemmonsters tournament, but couldn't, because you didn't have the cards for it? Now is your chance!
We are gonna shake things up and give everyone a chance to play his ace and win!

single splinter tournaments

Image Source - Edited with The Logo Creator 7
 

Steemmonsters Tournament Troubles


These last couple of weeks, I've been playing a lot of @steemmonsters tournaments. I did win a couple, but most of the time I get kicked out before the semi-finals.

I'm the first to admit that I lack some basic skills. But in most cases, that is not the reason I lose...

When I send or receive a challenge and the window with the battle rules appears, I just sit there and stare at it.

steemmonsters battle rules

Source
While precious seconds are ticking away, my mind is in overdrive, scanning my memories in search for the splinter that would work best with those specific rules.

By the time I start setting up my team, I have already lost 10 to 20 seconds. I lose another 20 seconds clicking each summoner and scanning the monsters before I have made up my mind... sort of...

40 seconds left on the timer... and I start doubting my choice...

stopwatch

I lost count of how many times I decided to switch to a different splinter with only 30 seconds left.

As a result, I see the time run out while I'm still lining up my cards... 3 seconds, 2 seconds... I have to submit, even though I haven't had a chance to put the cards in the right spot.

And so I lose... One battle after another...

 

It took me a while before I had figured out why I was always so indecisive, even though it's actually crystal clear. Outside of the Steemmonsters tournaments, I only play daily quests. I never have to decide which splinter would work best; the game tells me which one to use.

 

divider

 

Playing Favorites


Just like every single one of you, there are splinters I like to play, and splinters I don't like to play.

sacred unicorn

Before the Sacred Unicorn was introduced, I literally never played the Life splinter. When I had to complete a DQ with the white guys, I simply requested a different quest.

But then the evil version of 'My Little Pony' was added to the game. I liked it from the moment I first saw it.

And I knew that if I wanted to play it, I had no other choice than to learn how to go to battle with the Life splinter.

I'm still not very good with them compared to, for example, the Earth splinter.

 

In spite of the Sacred Unicorn, the Life splinter will never be my favorite. There are other splinters I like more. If I get a DQ in which my required splinter is not available, I always go back to one of my two favorite splinters. As a result, I play them more often, and I'm more familiar with the monsters and their abilities...

 

divider

 

What If...?


I assume everyone has a favorite splinter. It is probably the one you know best, the one you play most and the one you win battles with. Perhaps even the one that is leveled up higher than the other ones...

If you check all the regular Steemmonsters tournament rankings, no matter what league is set, you see the same names in the top 5 over and over again. Because they have the skill, yes. But also because they are not indecisive, like I am. They have enough experience to know which splinter fits a certain rule- and mana-set best. And of course, they have every card of the deck.

What if I told you there was a way that might level the playing field a bit? A chance for everyone to show off his skills with that one, favorite splinter?

 

divider

 

Single Splinter Tournaments


This weekend, @davemccoy is hosting the very first 2 'Single Splinter Tournaments'.

As you can tell from the name, the basic idea is that all warriors choose 1 splinter they will use for the entire tournament, no matter what the battle rules are.

single splinter steemmonsters tournament

Source
I'm not saying this will be easy, because we all know it will be not. But it will be equally difficult for everyone.

Of course, these types of tournaments will require quite some skill:

Being allowed to use only 1 splinter for all rules, you will have to be creative and flexible. You will have to know your monsters, their abilities and their strengths and weaknesses through and through.

But knowing your own splinter won't be enough...

Because everyone chooses his splinter upfront, you will know which splinter your opponent will be playing. You will have to come up with a strategy that could be effective against that other splinter.

 

strategy

Source
 

I can almost hear you wonder why someone would want to make the game even more difficult than it already is.

Let me tell you that there are plenty of reasons.

The main one is that it can level the playing field a bit, because you don't need a complete high-level deck to stand a chance.

There are plenty of people who have decks in which one splinter is more complete or leveled up higher than the other ones. In regular tournaments, this might be a disadvantage, because you need to be equally strong in every battle.

In a single splinter tournament, skill becomes more valuable than having a complete, high-level deck.

Or as @davemccoy puts it in his first post about the idea:

By elevating “skill” to win an entire tourney, a player can replace his knowledge for the requirement to have the absolute highest level of cards. As anyone who has played in a diamond tourney has discovered, you currently have no chance if you aren't at or very near max level cards. With the new format a player can “shock” his opponent by correctly understanding the likely cards to be played and put up countermeasures for more effectiveness. Think using magic reflect/void/silence against an anticipated Magic onslaught. Or beefing up the shields if you know your opponent plans to hit you with a Selenia air assault.
 

You can find his entire argumentation in that same post.

divider

 

Truth Or Dare


Personally, I think this will be an interesting experiment.

Will some unknown talents with only one stronger deck arise and overpower the 'all-round' players?

Will the 'all-round' players accept this challenge to show they have both the deck ánd the skill?

I'm curious to find out how this will turn out.

Meanwhile, if you need me, I'll be training my skills with my favorite deck...

divider

 

The Tournaments


There will be two tournaments to start with. Both will be played next weekend.

 

steemmonsters tournament bronze

 

Saturday, Feb 16th at 10 am EST/ 3 pm GMT


REGISTER HERE

 

 

steemmonsters tournament gold


Saturday, Feb 16th at 10 pm EST/ Sunday, Feb 17th at 3 am GMT

REGISTER HERE

 

You can find more information about the rules and prize pools (to which more will be added) in @davemccoy's tournaments announcement posts.

 

I'll be there. Will you?


 

 

 

simplymike

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software
Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter
 

Steemmonsters images taken from the Steemmonsters website

 


Interested In The Steemmonsters Game?
Create Your Account And Join In On The Fun By Clicking The Banner Below

Start playing Steemmonsters

 


 
 

powerhouse creatives

 

 

dunite

 


This post was published on MySteemWorld.com and cross-posted to SteemIt using the SteemPress WP plugin.


Sort:  

Awesome explanation and very very good presentation.... You completely "get it" and I'm very much looking forward to seeing how people like this new format by actually playing it ;) ... I will be there for sure :D

Can you play this on a mobile apparatus?

Posted using Partiko Android

You can. Definitely during day-to-day gameplay.
Personally, I think playing tournaments on mobile is a bit harder, because you need to play your battles, have another window open for the chat channel and another one for the tournament bracket. It's doable, but it's easier on a PC.

But the 'normal' game, in which you just play against others for points to get as far up in the ranking as you can, playing on mobile is absolutely no problem. I do it all the time.

There's no separate app you need - you can ju!st play the game in your your browser

How though?

Posted using Partiko Android

You just open your browser ans go to the website. There you log in with your SteemIt details. Once in,you ca, buy a starer deck and start playing

Hi, @simplymike!

You just got a 22.2% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @simplymike! Your post received a small up-vote from @wod-game as little gift.
We are a small group of people who want to create the next big Video game for Steem.
Want to know more about us?
Steem: @wod-game
Discord: Click here!

Have a nice Day!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by simplymike from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hola!

Will it be Water Splinter deck?

Everyone will be allowed to play with the splinter oh his choice

Hi @simplymike!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.793 which ranks you at #1405 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 368 contributions, your post is ranked at #107.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

All signed up ......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87