You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Can we Stop Steem Monsters From Dying?

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

I think there is room for the tournament aspect to bring back the hype, if it's done right.

The increasing frequency of tournaments is a good start, particularly the freerolls, or very low entry fee events. Diversity of prizes is also good, I've seen some with booster packs, some with cards, others with random tokens (personally these ones don't really interest me as I can't put a value on something I am unfamiliar with) and the list goes on.

Inevitably, however, these tournaments seem to be won by the same group of people. I'm currently doing some research into the stats on this and expect t do up a post in the next day or so.

What I think will help, is tournaments that run deep with prizes, if more people feel like they have a chance to win something, then they are more likely to play.

Sort:  

I totally agree with everything you've said. I tried to push for deep prizes. But get no traction. And yes same players are winning most of the prizes.
Having free roll games where you play an hour and might win a few 1-2 STEEM (because we aren't good enough to win the big prizes) isn't an attractive game in my opinion.
Automated tournaments are just an easier way to play. Nothing amazing, unfortunately.

Yep. And when we have one player, who has won of 16.3% of all Tournaments played so far (and of placed in the Top 3 for 24%), it points to the need to have some depth to prevent dominant players demotivating others.

Wow, Top 3 for a quarter of all tournaments is big news. I bet there are less than 4 of them that have placed Top 4 for over 50% too. It's that bad. Especially, given most of the prize money is handed out to the top 4 placings.
I literally discount the first 4 places prize money to determine if a Tournament is worth my time.
Usually they are not.

And that's across all tournaments in total. You can pretty much guarantee, he (or she) didn't compete in every tournament, therefore would have an even higher success rate. They probably finished outside the top 3, but still within the prizewinners on many more occasions too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77