You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 📉 Steemonomics 💡 Don't let Your Votes go to Dust! - TIL: rewards < $0.02 are not paid out!

in #steemonomics6 years ago

Awesome post. I saw the dust-vote discussion popping up here and there over the last few weeks, but I didn't have the time (or energy) to get into it. I guess I waited for your post to explain it properly :P

Possible improvements:
1 would be good and make a lot of things clear for new users. Communicating this would be nice to have seen (I'm here for almost a year, I guess my first few months were rather dusty...)
2 as well I guess - seeing the dust threshold was instated during quadratic rewards (which I just missed out on, HF 19 went live 6 days after me joining, one day before my first payout if I remember)
3 unsure about transaction fees... It sounds a bit off-putting, when everything's supposed to be free nowadays... I'll have to read up on your links, thanks for those!

And as for the dust under the rug, all I found there were some lonely cuddles, so if there's by any chance an SBD lurking under that dusty rug, let me sweep it right to the googlyprize-rewards for ya. :)
Dusted!

Sort:  

Aww... thanks Maarten, your opener made me feel warm and fuzzy inside :P

1 Yeah, all these rules here are so obscure... this comment here just made me realize that i stepped into some ambiguity with this topic as technically, I am speaking of dust-rewards and not dust-votes... I guess I need to edit the OP again.

2 Yes, I see the dust rule made a lot more sense with quadratic rewards. Both combined really made it a lot less attractive to use multiple small accounts with divided stake to spam and farm... which as an abuse-prevention system does make sense... but ultimately hinders the growth of small fish even more. And while it may prevent small accounts from abusing, it just simply leaves the playing field to the bigger guys... hmmm...

3 Transaction fees are certainly just a ridiculous idea on a platform like steem that takes particular pride in being fee-less... but I just can't help to think it would fix sooo much problems to put a price-tag on the bandwidth.

BINGO - you found the cuddles under the rug, but why would I want to speak of lost cuddles under the rug - my kittens have wasted away soooo many upvotes... all these cuddles were only "symbolic"!! I am currently scratching my head on how to make that work out better... and yes, looking under the rug you also found 1 SBD...

Cool, thanks for expanding! No easy answers I guess, but certainly an interesting discussion, one of many here on steemit :D

A bit of a solution: have enough SP for your kittens to make votes that won't be swept under the rug?

W00t, like I said, you can put that SBD in the googlyprize-kitty (pun intended!)

Awesome, will do! and yeah... just one more of the many intriguing facets of steemit!

P.S.: I tuned the kittens up just a while ago to a cuddle-target of roughly 0.022 (you might have noticed actually). But declining prices have left most of those rewards at 0.018-19 at payout anyways... so that was a bummer... to get a safety margin I'll probably retune them to 0.025 again... but that also means they will need even more SP and the cuddling frequency will have to stay low... I do have some budget restrictions :P I also thought about disabling the comment-voting but that would take all the fun out of the cuddles...?!

Yep, hehe. I noticed @cuddlekitten's last vote was actually $0.019 SBD (via steemd, 90.27% vote strength), and steemit showed it as $0.02...

Maybe that can help somehow!

Yeah, I know, as I said, the declining prices have pushed it down again and I'll have to retune it again, it's a bit fiddly to get the price calculation "live" and then there's the fluctuation of the value that's unforeseeable... so I need to give them some headroom and cuddle above 0.025 to give more room for price-swings... as they are around 90% voting power, you see that I'll give them some more SP before that's even possible...

It's a big TO-DO item on my ever expand list of things i need to get done asap... sigh

Oops, didn't catch your PS there :P
Yeah, I understand with the fluctuating price - and already voting at 90%! Vut keep 'm voting & cuddling though, always nice to see them! ;)

Yeah, there's still that "symbolic" value (plus the ignorance of most towards the dust-rule) no worries, they'll keep cuddling...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90