You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 📉 Steemonomics 💡 Don't let Your Votes go to Dust! - TIL: rewards < $0.02 are not paid out!

in #steemonomics6 years ago

I did not know that. I thought it was suggested but never implemented. Interesting.
I don't think I would mind paying a fee for every post I make (if it's reasonable) but I wonder what the numbers would actually be and how it would impact the blockchain.

It is definitely something to think about.

Sort:  

I think the lowest possible fee of say as little as 0.001SBD per kB of data in posts or comments would already make a huge impact against the average spam without coming at a serious cost for genuine exchange. Of course this would only be useful under the condition of getting rid of this dust thing as far as possible.

I wouldn't want to say transaction fees are neccessary per-se, but they are certainly a better tool to combat spam than preventing "dust" payouts and they might come with a few other perks, too. I bet a lot of comments would be a bit more thoughtful and promotion spam would slow down a lot, maybe it would even foster the culture of mutual support even more if we knew it came at a small cost to post those thoughts...

But well, maybe this debate is just too far detached from how steem claims it's fee-less protocol as it's major USP.

I have a feeling that you've been thinking about solutions for this a lot. Or you're just good at improvisation :) Yes, that would hurt spammers, but only to some degree or extent. Not much would be changed I fear.
Normal and valid users would think twice about posting crap which would be a good thing.
I guess there wouldn't be: I upvote, you upvote comments as much, or: great post! upvote me at link etc.

Well, the problems surrounding the governance and token distribution in a DPoS chain is very intriguing to me, so I've thought about these concepts and their economic aspects a lot ever since I started diving deeper into steemit. Quite frankly, I love this platform for the social experiment it's conducting more than for the monetary rewards it provides.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63687.39
ETH 3309.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93