Parenting a child with autism

in #steemparents7 years ago

iStock_000020188171Small.jpg
Parents, parents to be and future unexpecting parents autism is no walk in the park.


Hi Steemit community, I recently listened to a young woman complain at a day care because she felt that kids with Autism needed to be at home with parents due to their handicapped disabilities... Once I heard this I took it up with the Happy Tikez Daycare Supervisor and business owner and I feel it was dealt with properly afterwards, however as a single mother of one the things I dont agree with is ALL of the things this young mother and day care professional said. Autism can suck, I'll be the first ti admit that my daughter was born with it but by looking at her you wouldn't know she had it infact I only know it due to some odd outlandish test that they were doing, she is learning but apparently due to some type of communication issue they feel as though the test showed she isnt capablr of underatanding things like others and will struggle with this her whole life for the first 3 months I was upset and felt as though I failed her. I struggled with sleeping and eating when i heard this because being the failure of a mother I thought I was, I couldnt make her father stay with us and be a family, I some how fucked up and gave my child autism and now on top of that her life is going to be hard when there are already problems out there? What in the good lords name did I do so wrong? Heres the answer nothing. I didnt do anything, shes two years old and I can not even begin to fathom how some of the other parents feel, shes two and so far shes on point for everything so if she has autism and the autism is so bad that her life is ruined then ill bust my ass to help her when the time comes but as of now in this moment, my 2 year old child shouldnt be speaking foreign languages, she isnt expected to give speeches to anyone, shes 2 so she isnt in school when i call her name she acknowledges me and communicates with me. Look parents, those expecting, and those that will be unexpected there are several levels and types of autism i got sucked onto fear because of the word and the hype but all in all i know this much if you try your best at raising your child whether they have autism or not your child will be fine do not let sterotypes, assholes anf the misinformed scare you like I did. This steemit blog I created is dedicated to all kids with Autism you are just like everyone else, just a different label from a doctor, each and every one of the babies/children out there you all are just as smart, beautiful and strong as every other child never feel alone or different.

The autism pic source can be found at autismafter16
This content was inspired by the ignorant remarks I heard after working a 14 hour shift and picking my baby girl up from Daycare.

Sort:  

I like this attitude, ignore trolls and stereotyping scums. Do your thing. 👍

I truly believe too many children are sentenced to "the spectrum", which affects them more than the autism itself. All children are different. They develop in different ways, at different paces. When children are set up to be "different", they most certainly will be.

I agree with @steemparents I was told my son had autism a few years later it turns out that he doesn't have autism at all, hes just having communication issues and it may take him a little extra time, however it appears that after starting in kindergarden hes caught up. With that said yes the spectrum thing can really mess with parents and kids. Interesting post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56