You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Strong Opinions

in #steempeak5 years ago

At some point it was found that hearing opinions opposite of yours causes actual pain, like the same respons as if you were hurt physically :-) That's interesting to think about right? That means people would do anything to avoid this 'pain' of hearing an opinion they don't like, just as we'd avoid being stung by a Wasp.

And yes, the opinion machine on Steem is LOUD, but hey, as long as people keep shouting they... care?!

Keep listening people ;-) Great post @futuremind!

Sort:  

At some point it was found that hearing opinions opposite of yours causes actual pain, like the same respons as if you were hurt physically

This is interesting indeed @soyrosa, thank you for the thought provoking comment.

I wonder the impact of personality types. Like with me, I'm totally fine with being corrected, called out, told I'm wrong, so long as a certain level of respect is maintained. If jabs at intellect occur, or name calling occurs, I have the propensity to get scary, but I recognize that as some things I need to work on, and a definite feeling of "hurt" associated. I am the INFJ, such a judgmental feeler, although I like to think of myself as someone who doesn't judge others.

the opinion machine on Steem is LOUD

What? 👂

they... care?!

Oh they care, a few comments of validation, and a stiff cup of coffee, and that belief system is nice and cozy, just don't challenge the belief.

Keep listening people ;-)

I'm listening to you, I like the way your voice sounds in my mind.

Here, have a banana 🍌
And a rose 🌹
💗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86