I AM THE MESSENGER (BOOK REVIEW #2)

in #steemph6 years ago

“Maybe everyone can live beyond what they're capable of.”

Hola there! Today I’m gonna review another Zusak works which is “I am the messenger by Markus zusak”. You can also read my review of The book thief here’s the link.

https://steemit.com/bookreview/@justrandomlyme/the-book-thief-wednesdayreviews

me reading i am the msgr.jpg

SYNOPSIS
Ed Kennedey is an ordinary underage cab driver without a drive in his life. He find himself in the same daily boring routine. Just driving and playing cards with his best friends. His one friend is stupid and annoying, one is just silent and boring while the other one is a girl that he had crush on for a long time. Other than his friends he also had a stinky dog companion named Doorman, his a very lazy dog that loves coffee so much. His world started to turn upside down on the day he become a hero in the chaos of bank robbery. With a gun in his hand and a single bullet he had shoot the muggler and instantly became a hero. Nonetheless with this award comes a great responsible, on that night he had received an ace card that made him a messenger. Let’s follow how his life change as one by one different cards appear on his mail, with a different message that he must decipher. Would he decipher the hidden message and convey it properly? Or would he just stay as a underage cab driver.

msgr ltter.png

CHARACTERS
I just can’t get over with Ed kennedy, I love how he made me laugh just being him. His friends are sarcastically funny and weird. Aubrey one of his friend where he had a crush on is also a keeper. Again I love how Zusak put an effort in making every character distinct from the rest, every story of every characters are beautiful. Ed’s mother kinda represent a woman that you might think as a mean and heartless human but with those attitude comes a great concern for the people she love. She’s my personal favorite character in the story.

WRITING STYLE
Compare to the book thief this story is not narrated by anyone but was told by the main character himself so would read the story in his perspective. I like how he start the story ia funny way that makes the reader laugh out loud. Lastly Zusak words that an hit you in the core and make you think about your life just blow me away. What I don’t like about the middle part was written in a very slow pace that make’s it dull. That’s the only problem that I found the rest is perfect.

OVERALL
So this book is one of my favorite, It’s humorous in the same time a drama about life. I love all the short story of every character and definitely satisfying ending. I rate it 3/5 stars.

i am th emsgr.jpg

So that’s my review hope you get something to it and atleast give a thought in reading the I am the messenger by Markus Zusak. Adios

“May your blog posts don’t have any wrong grammars.” (like mine)

    Roxy signing off
Sort:  

Upvote the blog posts at @bible.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66