My Favorite food is TOCINO - My Entry To @steemph Contest

in #steemph6 years ago

Hi Steemit friends!

I've been away for a while now, but I am back to share to you guys my favorite FOOD!

I was browsing through Steemit
when I saw a contest that is hosted by @steemph. The theme is to write about your FAVORITE FOOD.
And I know just the right Food.

If there is one dish or meal that I can always eat, that would be:

TOCINO

images (6).jpeg
Image Source

TOCINO

Tocino is like a bacon. Though bacon tastes salty, tocino is sweet.
It is typically made from pork belly.
Tocino is the traditional breakfast
here in the Philippines.
We eat it mostly in breakfast, or at dinner. It is best to eat it with rice.
Or a combination called tosilog, meaning tocino, sinangag (fried rice), itlog (egg).

images (10).jpeg
Image Source

Oh I love tocilog! I can eat it everyday!

Why I love Tocino?

Ever since I was a kid,
I have always loved tocino.
I remember whenever my Mom asks us,

"oh anong ulam natin?"
"what should we eat for tonight?"

I will shout,

"TOCINO!!!"

Hahaha!!!

I just love the sweet taste of it.
Specially when the meat is to tender.
I think I can finish 3 plates of rice whenever I eat Tocino.
Even my grandma knows that Tocino
is my favorite food.
Sometimes she'll come home with a plastic of foods on her hand.

We'll ask her:

"ano yan?"
"What's that?"

Then she'll say:

"Yung paborito mo, Tocino"
"Your favorite, Tocino"

And then, if there is left overs on the next day, we put it on our sandwich.
And now that I have kids, they also loved Tocino! My eldest son would ask for a second plate of rice whenever we have Tocino for dinner.

Home-made Tocino

I haven't tried making my own Tocino at home. We just always buy at the market. Those are ready to cook Tocino.
But some Filipinos do their own version of Tocino at home. Here I am going to show you a tutorial on how to make your own Tocino. Feel free to watch it, and maybe try and cook your very own version too.


If you watched the video, you can see that she fried the tocino right away. You can do that, or you can try my way, letting the meat boil in water first, giving it tender and juicy flavor. Just add right amount of water that can cover the meat, then just let it boil until the water evaporates. Or you can leave small amount of water then add the cooking oil, and fry it.


Anyway, that's all for now guys!
For those who tried to cook Tocino,
let me know what you think,
maybe we can be bestfriends! 😉

THANK YOU SO MUCH EVERYONE!

Sort:  

Congratulations @ricabuhain! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55