My Favorite Children's Story | Beauty & the Beast

in #steemph5 years ago

image

I don't really remember which was first, me watching the movie or reading the book, but one thing's for sure - I love both. Up to this date, Beauty is still my favorite Disney princess.

There are a lot of reasons why I love this story. The magic and fantasy it has was amazing. The wonder and awe I felt when I first read it was like a never ending supply of happy vibes in my heart. But most importantly, the values it instilled in me when I was young was strong, it guided me in my journey to adulthood.

image
Source

Belle's love of reading.

This story is a great influence for kids when it comes to making them interested with books. A beautiful young maiden with her nose stuck in a book. It does sound like she's some sort of a nerd or something but there's nothing more sexy than a pretty face with a big brain. Reading books did make her smart - and may I say wise - that's why she didn't fall for Gaston's popularity just like that.

Contentment

In the beginning of the story, Belle's father asks her what she wants to have when he comes home. If I was the one my father asked, I would surely and definitely ask for food or a toy or a new something. Belle asked for a rose. She could've asked for a new book but she felt contented with a rose. My father told me that it's really not the rose she's after. Belle juat wanted her father to come back home from the journey safe and sound.

Love for her Parents

The book did not tell why Belle doesn't have a mom but the new movie did. But explained or not, Belle showed how much she loves her father. She took his place in prison. She was ready to sacrifice herself for her father.

Courage and Bravery

Only a brave soul will have enough courage to stand up to a beast in order to protect a loved one. She showed bravery doesn't require a gender. She's a girl, she's relatively small compared to the beast, she's in his turf but she stood her ground and defended her father. How's that for courage? This story gives every little girl a picture of what a strong independent woman looks like.

Seeing Beauty Past the Flaws

We're not talking about physical beauty here but I must admit the story did make it look that way somehow. With Beast's monstrous appearence and the grim facade, a kid might think that it's all about what our eyes can see. But this story is about being able to see the good in people despite their unattractive attitude. This story teaches us to see with our heart, not with our eyes.

The Power of Love

In the end, Beauty falls in love with the Beast. Despite his cranky outlook. The beast was freed from the curse. And they lived happily ever after. But let's not forget how Belle loved her father too. Her love for him also gave him his freedom back. I know this may sound a bit dreamy ( this is a fairytale afterall) but love can bring a lot of positivity in our life - joy, light, happiness, peace, freedom. That's how powerful love is. Of course you'll have to couple it with wisdome and knowledge which is why Belle - in my opinion - is the best princess ever!

This story is packed with a good combination of magic, fantasy, a little bit of child-friendly romance, action, and most imoortantly, good values. These values will be instilled in our little ones' minds when we read the book to them. And that is why Beauty and the Beast remains to be my Favorite Children's story.

♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

♥.•:¨Thank you for visiting my blog!¨:•.♥


image




Discord link

romeskie.png

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85