Why I'm Powering Down (It's not why you think)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steempower5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0114 Custom.jpg

Since starting my Steem-journey, I've yet to power down a single time, until now. But my goals of increasing my stake on the platform have not changed a bit.

Sounds conflicting so what's it all about?

OCDB

@ocdb is the brainchild of @acidyo. It's a non-profit distribution (bid)bot for white-listed members (of which I'm one of) – content creators who have shown to make good content on the platform. What's so remarkable about it, is that they offer a profitable return of 110% for the size of the bid back to the author – and this is the true net earning even after curation rewards. And when reading @markkujantunen's post about his experiences of using it with a single bid available per 24 hours for his growth, I realized that I should leverage it more myself, too, despite using it occasionally already, because I'm quite serious about increasing my stake here.

I have little Steem and SBD myself and can't buy more with fiat, so I'm using what I have: my stake.

So, for a moment my Steem Power will decrease, but using the liquid Steem for bids will eventually end up increasing my growth.

EDIT. Oops, I accidentally powered this up 100% out of habit, but better option would've been to take 50/50 because the SBD could've been used for bidding... Oh well :D

Sort:  

I'm going to go against the grain here, and nothing personal on you @celestial, we did meet briefly at SF3 and I remember you.. but why is @ocdb not a bid bot?

It's a question not just for you but for anyone who happens to read this.

Is it because its ran by @acidyo who is respected on the platform? Please tell me why this is different from @therising @smartsteem etc..., in ways others that it is not profit making.

Is this the reason, and is that the only reason why it should be deemed more acceptable than the others?

I'm going to go against the grain here, and nothing personal on you @celestial, we did meet briefly at SF3 and I remember you..but why is @ocdb not a bid bot?

I admit, I had to scroll your feed to find your face – I remember you, too! And no worries, it's ok to ask.

Well, it is a bid bot, because it works similarly to others – send money, receive a vote –, but it is also a distribution bot. Distribution bot that offers profitable votes (1 bid per 24 hours) for whitelisted members only who have been curated by @ocd. This ensures that stake is going to good hands (good content creators) which helps building up those accounts that in the future will contribute to a healthier platform and ecosystem.

So, that's why I would say @ocdb is the more ethical choice compared to other bid bots.

I suppose this is the best of them, there's so much adversity to bots (me included) and I made a public vow to never use them again around June 2018.

I couldn't really miss you at SF3, your hair is rather er... prominent, I will make more effort to talk to you next time .. at erm.. SF4?

I suppose this is the best of them, there's so much adversity to bots (me included) and I made a public vow to never use them again around June 2018.

Yeah, I don't use any bid bots either – except @ocdb.

I couldn't really miss you at SF3, your hair is rather er... prominent, I will make more effort to talk to you next time .. at erm.. SF4?

Right, the hair :D If everything goes well, in SF4 we shall see.

:D Yes! Good decision. I've been using @ocdb a few times a week lately - there's some posts I still don't feel comfortable giving such a huge upvote though - it will take a while before I can 'unlearn' the idea that this is not a bid bot and it's okay for me to use it whenever I want :')

#soondolphin, yes, go for it!

#soondolphin, yes, go for it!

Yeah :D

Sounds like a good strategy.

I've seen various people using it and wondered what it was all about!

I guess a couple of rounds of PD will give you enough to kickstart the whole process!

Posted using Partiko Android

I guess a couple of rounds of PD will give you enough to kickstart the whole process!

The bid limits are so high (50 SBD at the moment) that even more than couple rounds can be useful.

How do you even use it? Is it just through the regulat bid-bot site?

Posted using Partiko Android

Just send the money to @ocdb including the memo of the post url you want to be boosted.

Oh ok - how do I know if I'm white listed and there must be a post explaining all this somewhere?

Posted using Partiko Android

Here's the whitelist: https://thegoodwhales.io/index.html

I already checked and found you're name on the list :D

@acidyo has posted more about the bot. Here's the most recent one on it.

Great cheers! Something else to investigate!

Thanks for the links much appreciated. I did have a quick trawl baxk through acid's feed and cldnt find anything on the bot - sorted now cheers!

Hmm that sounds like a pretty smart way to go... Maybe I should use it more myself...
It's good to think ahead and long-term, especially on a platform like this;)

Hmm that sounds like a pretty smart way to go...

Smart people reinvest what they have :D

Maybe I should use it more myself...

Definitely, while there's a chance to do it for profit. Might not last forever.

That’s exactly the reason why I’ve been powering down, too.
It’s a win-win-win - everyone will benefit from this: Steem, the community and ourselves, too. Now is the time to accumulate Steem.

@soyrosa, I’m with you on “which posts are allowed to or worth powering up”. It felt a bit icky in the beginning, but I’ve come to the conclusion that value is in the eye of the beholder, plus the more the posts earn, the more the curators earn, too, from that OCDB upvote. So that makes it a win for everyone in my view.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I’ve come to the conclusion that value is in the eye of the beholder, plus the more the posts earn, the more the curators earn, too, from that OCDB upvote. So that makes it a win for everyone in my view.

That's a very good point, that curators earn more, too.

Now is the time to accumulate Steem.

It's always when it's bear season :)

Yes, I'm learning to see it that way to @connecteconomy! See how easy we make 'rules' for ourselves? :D

I have been powering down and down in a intention to use it as a bid which might inturn increase my steem power

Howdy sir celestal! that's a great plan sir, ocdb is such a blessing!

It sure is :)

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 6.27% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @celestal! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 50 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

I agree @celestal. All this is a good reason to invest in Steem also.
back to resteem!

Thanks for the resteem!

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.253 which ranks you at #2819 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 2824).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 199 contributions, your post is ranked at #46.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97