You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Polarizer Filter - Why You Need One and Which One to Get

in #steempress6 years ago

So having the polarizer on my lens would help with the sun flares that I get at sunset pictures sometimes, sort of work like a lens hood without having to block the sun with my hand or something else?

Also would it help with winter snow shots? Some of them can be pretty washed out that I take, I am still learning about photography, and using my digital camera. Winter is basically here, so that means snow, lots of snow, and lots of low angle strong light on those no cloud days.

One other clarification question, Smaller aperture for less vignetting? Sorry I still get slightly confused on this one so F5 is a smaller aperture opening than say an f10? or is it the bigger the number the smaller the aperture?

Sort:  

Not at all, polarizers don't help with flares and in fact, might make it worse. Flares depend on the quality of your lens. Primes tend to do better as the light coming through has less chance to bounce around in your lens. Manufacturers coat the lens glass with special coating to control flare and these typically make those lenses more expensive. Smaller aperture helps with edges - it works like your eyes. Keep them wide open and you see more of the edges. Squint and you see less.

This shot below was taken with a Wide Angle zoom lens (no polarizer) which is rated to have good flare chracteristics. There's still some flare but there are techniques to get rid of flare directly which I will do a write up and tutorial later when i have the time. Also, this is at f/22 (very small aperture) to create that massive Sun Burst which is caused by the diaphram of the lens.

Your snow shots are probably washed out because it fooled your light meter. Take your meter's reading then add 2 stops )) and yes polarizers help with snow scenes too )

Thank you I think that helps a little bit. I get a little green sprite or sometimes the pentagon artifacts, mostly though the little sprite type flare, I like how the sun rays kook on that picture. I am learning still, finding a lot of hints here and there with the professionals on line.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 69342.44
ETH 3686.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.32