You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How do you get your content noticed with no followers?

in #steempress6 years ago

I still think one of steemit's biggest flaws is that everyone comes here as a content creator and not as a consumer (unlike youtube for example). This results in a lot of poor-to-average content being made which then takes up valuable real estate in feeds. meaning a lot of the good stuff goes un noticed and unrewarded.

Sort:  

That's a really good point. I used to think that everyone has something to say, but many of the people that I've spoken to about Steemit say that they simply don't have anything to contribute. Maybe those people should just exist as curators rather than content creators. There's certainly no harm in taking that position on Steemit.

That's exactly right, and yet the manual curation guides such as curie, ocd, even steemit worldmap-- get no support (ie. delegations) from the whales. Come up with a fancy app that circle jerks your mates though, and that's fine. That's all they care about.

This is actually one of the reasons I'm not sad that people leave. Most of them wouldn't be publishing crap on other platforms because there's no incentive for them to do so. My latest pet peev is ulogs. I don't really give a fuck and want to pay to know what some stranger did today, which is probably boring and normal. I don't see this as adding value.

I had the same reaction when I heard about ulogs. I thought, "Oh, great. Another way for people to write crap content." My husband even said, "There you go. The I'm-sitting-on-the-patio of Steemit." (A reference to a sarcastic skit about content on Twitter.) But I have been pleasantly surprised.

Good writers can create interesting content out of their ordinary day. Granted it can sometimes read like a letter home, but if you care about the people, it's still fun. Granted, too, I'm pretty picky about who I follow and read, and that may help filter my results. But it hasn't turned out to be as awful as I expected. Perhaps time will change my mind.

The #walkwithme project, however, that's another story. I curate for a group on discord and Oh, God, those are boring. Not quite as bad as the one-photo-wonders that amount to "Here's a picture of the bowl of soup I had for dinner. Oh, yum, it was great." I finally had to put my foot down about those. (You can post what you like, but just don't expect me to read it.)

I agree with your original point though. People who come to Steemit consider themselves (rightly or wrongly) to be writers, artists, content creators. They may have limited interest in strolling around trying to socialize through comments on other people's posts. (This is especially true given how awful much of the content is.) Steemit can be a terrible time-suck if you're trying to do it right ... create good content yourself, comment like a champ, do your thing on Discord and still have a life. For some, it's just too much. And I have to say I sympathize.

This is going to sound really ignorant, but what the hell is a ulog? Is it just a blog about someone's daily life? That sounds like a diary which is utterly tedious.

I think that's exactly what it is. Dear diary but with $ attached. Check the tag. It's popular! A bunch of Aussies are writing them which is how I know about tthem.

Hmmm I don't know how I feel about that. I suppose they could be good if there was something meaningful about them but if it's just about what meals you ate throughout the day and what the kids got up to then I don't think it's my cup of tea.

It's like that 'walkwithme' or whatever it is tag. That one is 98% boring shit too. People just go for a walk and take photos along the way. Urgh! Kill me now.

Haha I've never seen that. Remind me to tag you in a post where I'm walking through Woolworths and taking photos of rice brands etc.

My one and only Woolworths photo from ages ago when I was text arguing with my partner 'There is no Mexican Salad!'
All for you :)
20180111_190335.jpg

I can't upvote this because it's 9 days ago, but I'm laughing out loud. I'll find a more recent post and give you a vote on one that's equally entertaining. I came across this conversation on effofex's reading log. Now, there's someone who finds worthy content and gives it a platform. Sorry to jump in, but "kill me now"...that did it for me.

I did some ulogs, but as I made a rule to myself to keep a (personal) minimum quality standard & because most of my days are boring, I don't do it everyday.

But I don't think ulog is inherently bad, some of them are actually great posts even based on their content alone.

Actually if I did it twice a month then I'd consider that month very interesting to talk about. Haha~

Very true. There seem to be so many people who have very little to say and they end up writing about anything and everything. Hoping to get some attention.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08