You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Having Children in Troubled Times: Should We Have Them At All?

in #steempress5 years ago

I never wanted kids and thanks to my age my fertility is on a fast downward spiral so not much chance of having one now without some sort of medical intervention. But I'm fine with that and have no regrets cos having kids has always been one of my nightmare scenarios.

On the whole China (and India) thing, it's really scary. This is one of the best articles I've read. Basically these 2 countries have more men than the population of France and Belgium combined. I started researching this a while back after binge watching "The Handmaid's Tale", and half wrote a post, which I've never finished. Maybe I'll finish it after the 3rd season has aired...

https://www.washingtonpost.com/graphics/2018/world/too-many-men/?utm_term=.7585d82cbe72

Sort:  

Truly frightening!

50 million excess males are under age 20? You just know the problems before you even read. I felt so sorry for the parents with 7 boys and her keep WISHING for a girl... and the guy tearily flipping pancakes thinking of the wife and kids he can't give them too. You know that rape is common/harrassment, but this other side of it is terribly poignant.

Still love the Handmaids Tale and loved the series - looking forward to sEason 3. Would love to read your post about it!

It's hard to get your head around those numbers. The mind boggles! So sad that girls are not cosidered to be worthwhile. Well, it turns out there are consequences to that!

This is also worth watching.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89