You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Having Children in Troubled Times: Should We Have Them At All?

in #steempress5 years ago

It’s hard to respond to all of this post! I will focus on one point I’ve come to believe. Overpopulation is a relative myth. You mention that consumerism and the systems desire to keep people buying. That’s what’s unsustainable. We can sustain a larger population if we properly consume resources. What that is and how it can be achieved is beyond the scope of my knowledge but don’t let the bioethicists confuse you that children are bad. They are absolutely not. We are in a similar situation as you; we could have more children but we also want to do things besides stay at home raising them all for decades. If we have less we can focus more and spend time enjoying things more. It’s our choices that are important because they work for us. There are lots of people having multiple children to balance it but there are also lots more people believing the bioethicists. We will be at a sharp decline in population in the coming decades because of the success of their program aiming at convincing people its bad and unsustainable to have kids.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Couldn't have said it better myself. In fact, I should have said something like it. We can sustain larger populations with good systems in place. As I went through this post I was conscious I was emotionally responding to overpopulation narratives, and that it wasn't that that was the problem but how it's managed or dealt with, but perhaps I didn't clearly show that's what I meant.

Then again, sharp population declines aren't a bad thing if managed properly either.

Glad you brought this up. I am in agreement too. Barely a day goes by that I don't feel that modern society is in decay around me. What must I feel guilty about today? What is it about my existence that has forever stained the world that makes me beyond redemption? With the majority of the culture starting to support depopulation programs, how can the current population hope to maintain a positive outlook for their offspring? Not sure I have an answer to my own question, but I think we are going to need some inspiring leaders to reinvigorate the culture to take pride in their historical ancestry and the future of their descendants.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63314.98
ETH 3233.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88