The mother of dragons: watercolor

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

Greetings, greetings, bloggers!

On this occasion I bring you a painting of "Daenerys of the House Targaryen, the First of Her Name, The Unburnt, Queen of the Andals, the Rhoynar and the First Men, Queen of Meereen, Khaleesi of the Great Grass Sea, Protector of the Realm, Lady Regnant of the Seven Kingdoms, Breaker of Chains and Mother of Dragons". An imposing character from the famous HBO series, Game Of Thrones, which has caused stir among fans of today's TV series. The mother of dragons, played by the talented Emilia Clarke who leaves men petrified by her dazzling beauty and lifeless to those who have dared to challenge her will be presented today in watercolor.

CIMG21744.jpg

I made this painting on watercolor cardboard of 34 x 28 cm and 135 g/m². I divided the process into steps to make it a little more practical and so that you can appreciate better the stages through which the painting passes:


Step 1

First of all, I made a pencil sketch to serve as a guide to avoid possible mistakes. Since I didn't have the ideal shade for the skin color, I mixed orange and white until I got the most suitable one and that's how I started shaping the delicate face of Targaryen.

CIMG2162.jpg


Step 2

Later, I gave life to the eyes trying to capture that elusive look that was seen in the original image.

CIMG2164.jpg


Step 3

For the suit, I used different shades of blue, trying to get the mottled design I saw in the image.

CIMG2166.jpg


Step 4

The hair was a challenge. It's not as simple as you might think. I let the cardboard go white and painted some reflections with yellow to give it a brightness, and I used grey for shadows and depth. I must say that I was not very satisfied (I am quite critical of my work; I have learned that it helps me to improve). Next time, I'll show you a better finished hair, he he he.

CIMG2169.jpg


Finally

I painted a grey aura around it. I did it to fill the void in the bottom. I decided not to cover all the cardboard to make it a little more original.

I spent many hours on this painting. I was happy with the result. Here is the comparison with the original. My version is a little more caricatured than realistic:

Daenerys.jpg

Fuente

I want to tell you that patience is the key and constancy is her sister.

I hope you liked it and thank you once again for reading me!

Sort:  

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

oh. shure. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60752.39
ETH 2904.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73