Watercolor painting! My great friend Grecia

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

Hello, my dearest bloggers! Today I want to tell you the short story of how I started painting in watercolor.

About 2 years ago, during the month of August, I was quite bored at home. It had reached that point in the holidays when you had already done everything you had thought about during class and didn't find anything to invest your time in. I, in particular, am a very hyperactive person, so when I get to that point, I get very anxious.

Then, one day, sitting at the table, wondering if the fly that was standing in front of me rubbed its legs because it was cold or did it as the vile gesture of someone preparing for a prank, I saw a case of watercolor paint that my mother was going to take to school for her students (she is a preschool teacher) and I decided that I wanted to paint with it. For as long as I can remember I've liked drawing but, until then, I hadn't used any kind of paint, only colours and graphite, so I started to dig around in her things and found a cardboard, a brush and voilà! I was ready to start.

Gre0.jpg

A picture of my beloved and beautiful friend Grecia (who you can find here as @greciaamidala and who will make you salivate with her delicious desserts) was the one I chose for what I call "practice" and that in the end was a success, hahaha. Let's get started:

Step 1

First of all, I did the pencil sketch which seemed prudent considering my inexperience with the paintings.

gre1.jpg


Step 2

I started with the glasses and then I shaped the silhouette of the face. I loved painting her cheekbones because they are super big and make her look so cuchi.

gre2.jpg


Step 3

I finished the face by painting the eyes through the glass of the lenses and continued with her hair giving straight strokes on the latter. A lot of patience with the hair, my friends, a lot of patience.

Sometimes I think it's just me who has a hard time with hair. I feel alone in this conflict. Haha.

gre3.jpg


Step 4

Later, I painted the neck and the flannel trying to achieve the texture of the folded fabric and last but not least, I dedicated myself to observe details and improve what I could. We must not forget that thoroughness gives very good results.

gre5 (2)12.jpg


Finally

The comparison between the original image and the painting:

grecia343253.jpg

To my surprise, the result was very good despite everything. I was too surprised and wondered, "Did I do this?" It was very exciting. So I was determined, I had already found an activity that I could do for the rest of my vacation and most importantly, it involved one of my favorite hobbies. Couldn't be better.

I also realized that maybe, if it didn't happen that way, I would never (or maybe not in that period of time) have realized that I could do something like this. And that left me with a moral:

Many times we predispose and say, "I can't do this" or "I'm not good at this" when we haven't even tried it. We must dare and always be ready to do things that are new to us because who knows what awaits us on this path that lies ahead.

I try to apply this teaching to anything, so I invite you. Let's go!

I greet you with my friend Grecia

gre y me.jpg

A hug to all of you and thank you once again for reading me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56