Diary of UNIBEN Fresher's (Part 2) - Orientation

in #steempress6 years ago

 


ORIENTATION

After my clearance, many events occurred but of all the events that took place after my clearance, my orientation is the only one I would rather talk about. I remember very vividly what happened when we heard the date for the orientation exercise. Many students didn't want to attend because we were told by our senior colleagues that it was a waste of time (we got to understand why later). I didn't want to attend as well I just wanted to go to the library all the time.

When the orientation week began, I made up my mind to cover at least 30% of my semester work within the week. On the first day, I went somewhere to read that day in a place very close to the main auditorium. While I was reading, I just felt like I should be in the auditorium. Out of curiosity I just moved Immediately and went to the auditorium, on getting there the first set of people I saw were the same senior colleagues who discouraged us not to go for the orientation.

When I saw them, I knew one thing for sure - I was scammed!

 



I went inside and I was just in time for the refreshments. I walked in smiling and because most students in my level were not aware of what was happening here, and I was not going to tell them either. They should find out thesame way I did; I thought to myself. That day was awesome! Infact it was LEGENDARY!

Like you must have already guessed, I cancelled my reading schedule for the rest of that week and dwelt in the premises of the Akin Deko main auditorium for the rest of that week. Many of my friends found out later (I don't know who told them about the food).

What made the orientation exercise fun was not even the main reason why the seminar was organized. In fact the orientation part of it was boring. The students only looked up to when the time for performing artistes came around. We delighted in booing the dry comedians who came with their already known jokes - we knew their jokes already but they still said them, I wonder if they were expecting another outcome.

The most interesting/annoying part of the show was that whenever the students were asked sensible questions, they replied with "NO" regardless of what the real answer should be. It was annoying when I was not doing it. But it was interesting when I was among the defaulters.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://getnaira.000webhostapp.com/2018/06/diary-of-uniben-freshers-part-2-orientation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60