TODAY IS BASTILLE DAY!

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)


Seperator line

Life offers us the opportunity to celebrate every day.  Today is Bastille Day, it celebrates freedom and a turning point in the French Revolution.  Freedom is a right that every country should ensure their citizens enjoy.
Siege of the Bastille painting by Claude Cholat

Siege of Bastille, painted by eyewitness Claude Cholat. Image source
LET THEM EAT CAKE!
France’s King Louis XVI,
to his people was mean.
France was in financial crisis,
the Royals were unrighteous.
King Louis’s wife, Marie Antoinette,
frivolous spending, she would regret,
the French people had no bread,
they just wanted to be fed.
Marie never uttered,
about those that suffered,
“let them eat cake!”
This is a historical mistake.
The people wanted reform,
so, the Bastille they did storm.
The Bastille was a state prison,
there was reason for the decision,
Control of gunpowder,
could shift the power.
Maria lost her head for reason,
she was guilty of high treason.
France honored the people’s bravado,
with the Liberty, Equality, and Fraternity motto
Drawing of the Bastille.

Image source
Seperator line
The French Revolution Song- An educational song about the French Revolution sung to Bad Romance by Lady Gaga.
Video source

What Is Bastille Day?- This video will give you a quick understanding of the events leading up to the storming of the Bastille.

Sort:  

Hope everything's okay with you and family.

Thank you for your concern. Everyone is okay, it has just been a crazy and busy week. I had to replumb my bathroom sink (the joys of being a homeowner), became aware of a great long term substitute teaching position for the Fall. I have been updating my resume, getting references and contacting people I know at the school. I have also been studying for a test on Friday, that will add to my teaching credentials.

My schedule should be back to normal this weekend.

Someone once said to me being busy means being blessed. Am so happy for you then as you are blessed with so much opportunity and activity. May you continue to be busy : )

Yes, I'm very excited about the opportunity. I couple of friends and colleagues are put in a good word for me to some people that matter!

Friends are like gold. Thank God for friends.

Yes, they are! I would say friends are even more valuable.

Hear hear. More like diamonds.

@emergehealthier just browsing around and saw your post. So interested I just learnt today is Bastille Day, and as you mentioned it represents freedom and a turning point in the French Revolution. I probably had learnt this via History class....however, don't remember so this is a good refresher lol. Upvote your post to support

I'm glad you enjoyed the post! Thank you for your support.

Hahhaha yes it was good learning @emergehealthier. Looking forward to your next posts...if you have time come check out my posts too :)

All good things come to end at one point or another. So for Marie it ended with her head in a basket. And all bad things also come to end. For France they did away with the monarchy and established a government of men. To which I believe had changed her course and led to the country ultimately becoming a world power.

Did I get that right?

You get an A in history! Napoleon, the Emperor of France and a military man, used force to dominate Europe for over a decade.

Hooray! I also happen to have read the book The Scarlet Pimpernel by Emma Orczy which somehow gave me a background of the French revolution. But I have a feeling the French don't like this book very much : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63