You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On the punishingly depressing cost of housing in the UK in relation to median income and expenditure patterns

in #steempress5 years ago

Home ownership just isn't worth it when you run the numbers (at least here in the states). After you consider insurance, interest cost, and cost of repairs/maintenance it's like a 20 year investment just to break even when compared to renting.

It's just that nostalgia of owning a home that makes it an emotional buy. Honestly, I wish I would have been explained shown this 10 years ago it would have saved me and made me a lot more money.

Sort:  

Surely it's still worth it even if it takes 20 yrs to break even... renting is just givng money to someone else!

Posted using Partiko Android

Well I guess I should explain. Owning a house is a terrible investment. It takes too long to get your money back vs renting. I'm not sure if it's 20 years or 10 years pay back, but regardless.

Owning a home is a terrible investment was my point. It's a personal decision to own vs rent. It's a better option to use the money you save on renting vs home ownership and investing that money.

Hopefully, that's a better explanation of what I was trying to say.

Yup gotcha... I thought you might have been thinking about investing elsewhere... You may have a point!

I just like the security of having my own home and it making me less dependent on finance systems once I've finally paid for the damn thing!

Posted using Partiko Android

I completely understand. I thought the same way and now it's just too big of a pain to move again. I think if we do ever move again we'll definitely be checking out rentals.

The other thing I don't like about rentals (especially when I lived in an apartment) was that you're at the mercy of price increases. It seemed like every time I renewed my lease my rent was going up by 100 - 200 dollars.

Not to mention the dreaded service charge when it comes to flats.

I NEVER want to move again, that costs a fortune too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82