You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Smoke Dreamings: A Meditation on Incense

in #steempress5 years ago

When I lived on Maui I used to do a community event called Sacred Incense Ceremony. We would crush the elements for the 5 skandhas, use a koh press to make an indentation in ash in a bowl, then light the mixture and sit there watching it burn together for about 45 minutes. The meditation on watching the incense and witnessing the literal transmutation of the elements of physical being back into emptiness was incredibly powerful. The added layer of smell just made it that much more experiential.

Incense has been a part of many world traditions for ages because it is so powerful.

Sort:  

AH gosh this is why I love Steemit. I would never had known about this ceremony otherwise! Thanks for adding to my post with this memory. It's how I experienced this incense meditation.. so powerful! And that was just on my own... a group sit is even more powerful.

Posted using Partiko Android

Why not gather some folks to share the experience with you some time?

Yes. I suppose. Not sure who! In other news, just got accepted off the wait list for Vipassana over new years... they asked if I could tent as it is full and I asked if I could stay in my van and they said yes, so pretty happy.. much cosier than a dorm room for 10 days!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, that's awesome! That's going to be an amazing experience. Good for you.

Thrilled. Been wanting to do another one for a while now. Ten days without Steemit.. can I do it? Will y'all forget me .. haha! Or will I simply.. detach?

Posted using Partiko Android

Somehow I suspect you'll return with some incredible insights to share with us all. That, or you'll decide you'd really rather not ever turn your computer back on LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83