Narration Debut

in #steempress5 years ago

For those who want to skip my blabbering and just listen, feel free to scroll down to the bottom of the page.

This is old news for some of my friends, I know. But me? I'm still inwardly shrieking with excitement.

Last month, I got to listen to a real-live podcast episode from someone else that featured my narrations of Jade Generals and Alphabet of Signs by Ursula Whitcher.

They were featured on a podcast called The Lesbian Historic Motif , part of The Lesbian Talk Show. Host of the podcast, which discusses women, and specifically queer women and their placs (or possible place) in history.

Those of you who have known me a bit longer, know that I love doing audio. I started out narrating some of my own stories and uploading them to my Soundcloud account. Then, my friend Damian Jay Clay and I started a podcast together.



Photo by BRUNO CERVERA on Unsplash

Sadly, we had to put it to rest because of my hectic schedule. Between my job and the renovation of our house, as well as Damian's schedule, it was almost impossible for us to coordinate recording times in a way we could sustain over time. Once life returns to normal, I can definitely imagine us resurrecting it, but for now, I gave up on my audio dreams and plans.

But, due to a sheer stroke of luck and Twitterly coincidence, I ended up meeting Heather Rose Jones, the host of the Lesbian Historic Motif Project when she was looking for a narrator for some pieces of flash fiction she had scheduled.

As soon as I received the text I was to narrate, I dug in and set to work. And I remembered again how much I enjoyed doing things like this. Bringing stories to life in recordings.

I very much enjoyed both pieces, and can't thank Heather enough for the opportunity to work on a project like this.

Would you like to have a listen?

Go ahead, and click. I'm sure Heather won't mind.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://jasminearch.com/index.php/2019/04/08/narration-debut/
If you would like to read some of my other work, feel free to have a look around on my off-Steem blog page by clicking the banner. My library there contains all of the pieces I’ve written since starting my blockchain adventure.
___ As a writer, finding the right community–the right tribe–makes all the difference. For me, that’s the INKubator. I’m one of the admins there, and I have to say I’ve never been more proud of something I helped build, than I am of the INKubator. We help each other improve, lovingly drown each other’s drafts in red ink, and help each other brainstorm. But we’re more than a writing club. We’re a family. We root for each other as we submit pieces for various publication venues. We cheer and join in victory dances when a piece is accepted. We support each other through the disappointment of the inevitable rejections. We hang out, playing as hard as we work, and from the madness of our conversations, more stories are born. As a community, we span the globe, with members from Asia, Australia, Europe and the US, so chances are there will be someone there if you should decide to drop in. If we’re quiet, that’s because we’re writing. If you love writing, we’d love to meet you! Click on the banner below to pay us a visit.
Steemitramble
Steemitengine
[![The STEEM Engine](https://steemitimages.com/DQmfLSkWQREGBn7m4CtN2jBvorv6URiA79zMobkw2Uvh5rD/steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif)](https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@thesteemengine/introducing-the-steem-engine-initiative)
Sort:  

ej! Haven't seen you in a while then!

Hey Karin!!! Still working on my writing career. Slowly getting somewhere too! How are you???

Very cool to hear that you are getting somewhere with it!! #proud ;)

Yeah all is good here in the swiss mountains! A lot colder than on the beach but life here isn't too bad as well :D

We upvoted your post.
We try to develop the steem comunity, so help us with your witness vote.


We need your WITNESS vote
steemitportugal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78